1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Ping or Map

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bkatzman, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bkatzman

    bkatzman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Can't ping or map
    Greetings,
    I have a machine (possibly more) that I can't ping or map to (although I can ping/map out of). It is running XP-Pro SP3

    I have checked the normal stuff, i.e. firewall on/off, File and Printer Sharing exception, File and Printer Sharing in Network Connection settings, TCP/IP settings, etc...

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Briz
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    Failure to ping is almost always a firewall issue. Sometimes a VPN will block networking the same way a firewall does.

    What non-Windows firewall or security suite do, or did, you have on the machine?
     
  3. bkatzman

    bkatzman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I have Windows Defender 1.1, Symantec Antivirus 10.1.

    Thanks for your help
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm not familiar with Symantec Antivirus 10.1; don't know if it can shut down network access if it is corrupted or thinks its under attack.

    This is a business, right? Are you in, or maybe the entire, IT department?
     
  5. bkatzman

    bkatzman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I work in the IT department. I am only experiencing this on one (my) and another pc out of about 40.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    I would uninstall the anti-virus, run Symantec's Removal Tool, and see if that is the cause. If it is, probably it just got corrupted and you can reinstall it without difficulty.
     
  7. bkatzman

    bkatzman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    The only thing that seemed to solve this issue was reinstalling WinXP Pro. I was hoping for an alternative solution, but it worked...
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915309

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice