1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Ping out even with the signal strength excellent

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Emannix, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I have configured my Belkin wireless card to static ip and dns like the working laptop I have going. I can ping 127.0.0.1 and it comes back 100% success. I can not however, ping the router or the laptop on the network.:eek: I checked the network connections utility and IP is set up ok. The windows screen shows packets sent and received. There are 4 green bars in signal strength indicator. I can not browse or get any web action or email.
    My question is this: How can windows say all is well when I can't even do a basic ping to the router?:confused:

    I have a Hijack file for you i it helps. I saw some interesting web and assorted items in the middle that look suspicious.:(

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 7:02:59 PM, on 2/16/2007
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\bcmwltry.exe
    D:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\pptd40nt.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    D:\Documents and Settings\Eric Entin\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe

    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - D:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [bcmwltry] bcmwltry.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [removecpl] RemoveCpl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SSBkgdUpdate] "D:\Program Files\Common Files\Scansoft Shared\SSBkgdUpdate\SSBkgdupdate.exe" -Embedding -boot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PaperPort PTD] D:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\pptd40nt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IndexSearch] D:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\IndexSearch.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = D:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - D:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - D:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{36F8A538-4AC3-45DE-90AB-356BAD8319E6}: NameServer = 192.168.2.1
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Are you getting a valid IP address for your network.
     
  3. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Aye. The network is 192.168.2.0
    router is .1
    machine is .10
    it doesn't seem to be conflicting as I only have the two machines and the printer on the network.

    I tried ipconfig/release... /renew... /flushdns... netsh...
    It's just bizarre:confused:
     
  4. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    This is the working unit's ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-2e68c49b20

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A4-81-7F-CA

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02/16/2007 11:59:05 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 01/18/2038 8:14:07 PM
     
  5. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Gotta make a quick run out.
     
  6. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    This is the broken one

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ole-reliable

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Wireless 54Mbps Desktop Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-06-A4-26

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.10

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    You are using a static IP on the wireless, so the only indication of communication with the router is whether the ping works. If the Winsock fix didn't get you going, disable encryption on the router and try the connection again.
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Good point.

    " Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No"

    Do you correct IP address information assigned if you use DHCP?

    So far there is no indication that you are communicating with the router at all. Let alone to the Internet.

    Actually I would try TerryNet's last suggestion first. Disable the wireless security and see if you can get an IP address assigned from the router. Usually the winsock entries don't fix that problem anyway
     
  10. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Ok. So I went to your link and downloaded the two reg entries. I then rebooted. I configured the IP address to automatic and dns as well. Dhcp enabledis now yes. Ipconfig/release...
    already released
    /renew... an error occurred while renewing interface wireless network connection 2: unable to contact your dhcp servier. Request timed out.
    See Ip config below. Notice the automatic assigned IP address is not of this network. Default gateway is not there either. What is up with that?

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ole-reliable
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Wireless 54Mbps Desktop Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-06-A4-26
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.231.148
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Again, usually the winsock entries don't fix that problem anyway
    __________________
     
  12. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    here's what I did. I have connected to the router via ethernet. I am downloading windows update and associated patches and sp2. I will update as things progress.
     
  13. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    SP2 is a good update to have.

    To confirm, you have not yet tried TerryNet's suggestion to "disable encryption on the router and try the connection again"?
     
  14. Emannix

    Emannix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I tried to and have disabled all network security at this time but the wireless is not communicating. I am still using ethernet to download the sp2 and associated updates. I will update as it completes and I reestablish the wireless.
    Thanks for sticking with me on this
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're not using MAC Address filtering on the router, right?

    SP2 has lots of wireless networking fixes and improvements. Keep your fingers crossed.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544727

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice