1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't play .mp2 files.

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by brucedl, Jan 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brucedl

    brucedl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    311
    I can play mpg, avi, but mpeg-2 (extension .mp2) files will not play back on my computer with either the Windows Media Player or the ATI file player. My Windows XP installation is fresh-clean system, as of yesterday. Immediately upon trying to run, I get the "(whichever video player).exe has encountered a problem and needs to close" message.

    I have disbled any contention on IRQs (only my network card was sharing the IRQ), loaded older (Win2K) drivers for my ATI Radeon, and slowed down video acceleration. Any other thoughts? The files I capture with the ATI TV will play on other computers without a problem.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    When the error occured, could you click the Advanced or More Options button to find out more details?

    Also, lets see if its set up for them. Go to Windows Explorer. Click on Tools | Options. File Types. Scroll down to mpeg. Click on it and is the player coming up with Windows Media Player? Do the same for mp2.


    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. brucedl

    brucedl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    311
    MPEG's and Mp2 files are set to open in the ATI player, but I was opening them manually in the windows media player as well.

    Each error appname (wmplayer.exe or atimmc.exe) is what shows up in the error window.

    The Modname on both counts is dscinemvideodecoder.dll.

    Here is the beginnning of the drwatson log:

    Application exception occurred:
    App: C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe (pid=2492)
    When: 1/18/2002 @ 19:45:45.312
    Exception number: c0000005 (access violation)

    *----> System Information <----*
    Computer Name: ATH700
    User Name: Bruce
    Terminal Session Id: 0
    Number of Processors: 1
    Processor Type: x86 Family 6 Model 2 Stepping 1
    Windows Version: 5.1
    Current Build: 2600
    Service Pack: None
    Current Type: Uniprocessor Free
    Registered Organization:
    Registered Owner: Bruce Levy

    *----> Task List <----*
    0 System Process
    4 System
    444 smss.exe
    500 csrss.exe
    524 winlogon.exe
    572 services.exe
    584 lsass.exe
    760 svchost.exe
    812 svchost.exe
    980 svchost.exe
    1020 svchost.exe
    1116 spoolsv.exe
    1348 inetinfo.exe
    1392 navapsvc.exe
    1484 NPROTECT.EXE
    1608 nopdb.exe
    1680 vsmon.exe
    1832 minilog.exe
    412 Explorer.EXE
    112 iTouch.exe
    652 navapw32.exe
    716 WFXSWTCH.exe
    784 wfxsnt40.exe
    796 point32.exe
    844 ATISched.EXE
    896 AcroTray.exe
    956 devldr32.exe
    1816 QWDLLS.EXE
    2088 zonealarm.exe
    2124 12autosl.exe
    2132 Remind32.exe
    2388 OUTLOOK.EXE
    2508 iexplore.exe
    2492 wmplayer.exe
    2604 drwtsn32.exe
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay

    Just reread your original posting, and you said that you installed some older Win2000 drivers in. I thought that this was an XP system. Have you not got XP drivers?

    Also, can you give me the full name of your video card? Control panel | System. Device Manager, under Display will be the name of your card.

    What version of DirectX do you have?

    Also, what version of WMP is it? I have found this, but its for 6.4:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q255194

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. TechChick

    TechChick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    What video card do you have? Are you running ATI's Multimedia Center? If so, what version?
     
  6. brucedl

    brucedl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    311
    The 2K drivers were loaded at the suggestion of ATI support.

    Video card is ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon. ATI Multimedia Center 7.2. DVD player 5.0 (all the latest downloads).

    Direct X 8.0.
    WMP 8.0

    Problem apperars to be related to what level of compression I record the mp2 files at. Highest quality plays (some intermittent dropoutrs) but lower quality causes the error messages.
     
  7. TechChick

    TechChick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    282
  8. brucedl

    brucedl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    311
    Yes, that is the DVD 5.0 installed from ATI's site. This is their first release of the DVD player for XP.
     
  9. TechChick

    TechChick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Did you install it?
     
  10. brucedl

    brucedl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    311
    Of course I installed it.
     
  11. TechChick

    TechChick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    ATI has drivers for that card specifically for Windows XP. Did you try those? I can't imagine why ATI would tell you to use Windows 2000 drivers when they released Windows XP drivers. There's even drivers built in to Windows XP that work fine for most applications.
     
  12. brucedl

    brucedl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    311
    ATI suggested loading the Win2K drivers because apparently some people have succesfully solved issues by using those drivers.

    All the Drivers currently loaded on my system are the XP drivers, after (and before) trying out ATI's suggestions.

    A number of features with the All-In-Wonder Radeon did not work with the initial release of XP. For example, there was no DVD support with this card until the release of the 5.0 DVD of 12/17. Additionally, all functionality of the ATI Media Center was not restored until 11/27, including tuner/capture functions.

    I can currently play back files recorded at the "Best" quality, but not "Good" or "Longest." I suppose I'll just suffer with the best quality :)

    On the WMA player, files recorded at "Best" play back in a squashed window, and files recorded at the other two qualities sometimes cause the error message, other time play back squashed as well.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65380

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice