1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't print to network printer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by garys1953, Apr 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. garys1953

    garys1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Guys,

    I have 3 PCs and an HP Deskjet 6980 (networkable) printer attached to a switch on my LAN. Two of the PC's print fine to the printer, but the third one get's the following message:

    "The print spooler was unable to connect to your pinter. This can be caused by your printer being turned off, the cable being unplugged, or being connected to a VPN, which will block access to your local network."

    The problem pc is connected to the network with no problems and to the internet, so there is no "cable" problem, and I have disabled his Norton System Works firewall to no avail. Anyone have any ideas what to try next. Thanks!

    Gary in Michigan
     
  2. garys1953

    garys1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Actually I am going to place this in networking which appears to be a better spot fof this.
     
  3. jchavez903

    jchavez903

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Make sure you don't have dup puter names and most importently check your workgroup name on the odd puter. Right click My computer, properties, computer name.

    hope that helps. Don't pay attention to those network geeks.
     
  4. garys1953

    garys1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    It turns out this was a known issue with a solution on HP's web site. I had to delete the port and create a new virtual printer port pointing to the IP. I didn't have to do that on the other PC's, but one I did it on the 3rd one every thing was fine. Thanks for your help.

    Gary in MIchigan
     
  5. jchavez903

    jchavez903

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I was just going to suggest that...

    I'm glad it is resolved. I am constentley adding and subtracting puters from my network. I work on them on the side on my little home workgroup and print, file sharing is always the bummer. Do just like you did...shut down the firewall and work from there. Sooooo many things to check out. I'll stick with my VMS and UNIX stuff at work. Give me a command line and an IP to steer by...
     
  6. Dog runner

    Dog runner

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Just joined in hopes of getting some help. I saw the comments concerning the printer spool problems. I have an HP 8450 and this is the third time I have had the problem. Unlike the last posting, I was unable to find the solutions on the HP online support. I did a chat with 2 techs but to no avail. Could someone tell me in laymens terms how to correct this???? It is a major headache! It it just the HP printers that do this? I also have a Lexmark printer installed but it never gives me this error.

    Help!!
     
  7. garys1953

    garys1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Hmm, seems like the instructions on HP's web site were pretty clear. Which part did you have trouble understanding?

    Gary in Michigna
     
  8. Dog runner

    Dog runner

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Wasn't that I didn't understand the instructions, I did not SEE anything pertaining to this problem.
     
  9. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    What error message are you getting?
     
  10. garys1953

    garys1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Oops! Ok, I see that now, sorry. Try this link.

    Let us know what happens.

    Gary in Michigan
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/567257

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice