Can't reach a https secure site

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

solutionsearch

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
5
To use some features on the Nascar.com web site, you need to log in through https://secure.audience.nascar.com. Problem is, the site can't be reached or pinged. Increasing ping time generates nothing but timeout errors. Something in the computer is blocking it from reaching that web address, whether it's entered as a name or a numeric address. This problem happens with four different web browsers - IE8, Firefox 3, Chrome and Safari.

It's a Gateway laptop with Vista SP1. It happens with a LAN connection. WiFi and Ev-Do. The web address is available on one machine with an identical WiFi link but not with the Gateway laptop.

Here are some of the attempts to solve the problem that have failed:

Resetting TCP/IP stack.
Switching DNS server.
Removing Norton Internet Security 2008.
Shutting down Windows Defender.
Running the computer with no firewall.
Removing and reinstalling network adapters and reinstalling drivers.
Running Vista in safe mode with networking.
Removing all temporary files and history.
Adding the domain to the IE trusted sites list.

The secure.audience.nascar.com address and the nascar.com domain are not blocked in the Hosts list.

NASCAR tech support has no idea what's going on.
Several checks of other web sites and Microsoft's online support on problems with accessing https secure sites have turned up no problems with accessing that site.

The Gateway has no trouble accessing several other https secure sites, but can not reach secure.audience.nascar.com.

The computer has no trouble reaching any other web sites with any of the three Internet connections it uses. Only this one site can not be reached.

Other "fixes" that didn't work:

Changing security settings in IE.
Re-registering DLLs.
Creating a second user account.

Device manager shows no problems with network adapters.
Malware scans show no problems.
Virus scans show no problems.
"netsh interface tcp set global autotuning" changes do not work.
Switching off the https requirement for trusted sites in IE does not work.
Running IE as an admiminstrator does not work.
Changing the assignment of an automatic IP address does not work.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Well, I just get a blank screen when I try that URL, are you sure that's the proper URL?
 

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,115
First Name
Chuck

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418

solutionsearch

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
5
Finally found a solution. Not an explanation, but a solution.

While running a couple of Auslogics utilities on another machine, came upon their Boost Speed 4 utility. Downloaded and ran the trial version, which made several changes to Internet and network settings. Those changes made it possible to reach the previously unreachable site.

This wasn't a setup for a product endorsement, just a note about a program that solved something that had stumped the experts.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top