1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't read my burned data cds

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Xargos, Jan 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Xargos

Xargos Thread Starter

Hi all!

I'm quite new to cd-burning. Here is my problem:

I can't read or copy data from my own recorded data-cds (photos, videos, .exe, etc.) but have no problem at all playing my recorded music cds!!!

Recording specs:

- CD-RW : Matshita CW-7586
    - CD-ROM : Samsung SC-152C
    - Tried many brands of CD-R disks (Kodak, Sony, Verbatim etc.)
    - Tried many burning software (cdr-win, ezcd creator 5, nero)
    - Updated to the last firmware driver for my burner (1.08)
    - Tried Microsoft and Adaptec ASPI
    - Speed 1x and 2x
    - Tested all possible recording parameters; track-at-once, disc-at-once, ISO9660 and Joliet file systems etc.

The end result is always the same; the disc is fully recorded but when I try to read or copy data files from the new cd it does not work, I get "redundancy check error" message when reading from the CD-RW, or "wrong diskette" message from the CD-ROM.

I must say that there is indeed one of the recording software (ezcd creator) that signals an error at the end of recording, telling: "compared data does not match". It seems like this is a file system error but I've tried both Joliet and ISO9660 to no avail!

And remember that my recorded music cds are playing fine!

I am really going nuts, I can't imagine something I did not try! And I don't tell you the number of recordable cds I wasted...

Any help would be welcome. Thanks in advance.

Xargos.

2. deuce

deuce

Does normal data record ok? You could always use the wasted discs as coasters. (you can never have enough of those) :D

3. Xargos

Xargos Thread Starter