1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant reduce display to fit screen horizontally

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by geralds, Feb 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. geralds

    geralds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Just plugged a NEC Multisync 5FG monitor into my old computer with an ATI Rage Pro video card on a Wiindows ME system. Problem is any display is too wide, cant see the start button and the -, square, x buttons at the same time.
    The monitor horizontal size buttons work, and the ATI screen positioning works, just cant make it small enough. Vertical is okay.

    Can someone impart some basic knowledge of where this problem is likely to be?
     
  2. RedAxl

    RedAxl

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Manually Adjust/Correct the Width/Size of display of your monitor
    USING the Buttons (in moitor/hardware).
     
  3. geralds

    geralds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    If you mean the buttons on the NEC monitor, that has been tried, the size is at the smallest limit. If you mean the software buttons associated with the ATI adaptor, that has been tried, the size is at the smallest limit.

    The problem exists on all the available monitor resolutions also.
     
  4. RedAxl

    RedAxl

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Ah! You mean the visible display is smaller than the actual display size...
    NEC Multisync 5FG should have been compatible with Plug N Play monitor Driver.

    You can try updating the driver of your monitor.

    Hope this works for you.
    Good luck.
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Change the refresh rate. That often changes the size of the displayed screen.
     
  6. geralds

    geralds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Tried changing the refresh rate and it changed the screen alright....but made it bigger still...tried all available rates with no sucess. Good try tho. I suspect the monitor has a problem, will try it on the other system tonight.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328396

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice