Cant reduce display to fit screen horizontally

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

geralds

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
112
Just plugged a NEC Multisync 5FG monitor into my old computer with an ATI Rage Pro video card on a Wiindows ME system. Problem is any display is too wide, cant see the start button and the -, square, x buttons at the same time.
The monitor horizontal size buttons work, and the ATI screen positioning works, just cant make it small enough. Vertical is okay.

Can someone impart some basic knowledge of where this problem is likely to be?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
45
Manually Adjust/Correct the Width/Size of display of your monitor
USING the Buttons (in moitor/hardware).
 

geralds

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
112
RedAxl said:
Manually Adjust/Correct the Width/Size of display of your monitor
USING the Buttons (in moitor/hardware).
If you mean the buttons on the NEC monitor, that has been tried, the size is at the smallest limit. If you mean the software buttons associated with the ATI adaptor, that has been tried, the size is at the smallest limit.

The problem exists on all the available monitor resolutions also.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
45
Ah! You mean the visible display is smaller than the actual display size...
NEC Multisync 5FG should have been compatible with Plug N Play monitor Driver.

You can try updating the driver of your monitor.

Hope this works for you.
Good luck.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Change the refresh rate. That often changes the size of the displayed screen.
 

geralds

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
112
Tried changing the refresh rate and it changed the screen alright....but made it bigger still...tried all available rates with no sucess. Good try tho. I suspect the monitor has a problem, will try it on the other system tonight.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top