Can't remove user profile

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Unkl Petri

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
7
When Windows loads it goes into a no-name profile. I know this because I can't save my password in the dailup window. When I goto the Start menu it has "log off..."--when i logoff it shows "log off (my name). i tried all kinds of stuff including what Microsoft told me to delete in the registry. it's still acting exactly the same way
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
First, this is a bit sketchy. Go to start and logoff. Do you get a log on dialog when you restart? Is your name there? Do you want to use a password? If so, enter it.

Post back with that. The more details the better, please. What exactly have you done and what exactly is missing.
 

Unkl Petri

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
7
I've been to those Microsoft links--that was the first thing I tried. Before i log off, the Dialup check box IS unaccessable. and after i log off everything is working the way it should. And there is no password to get to either profile

i just want to get rid of that second user profile
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
You need to post what steps you have taken so that they are not duplicated.
 

Unkl Petri

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
7
i deleted HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ProfileList in my registry
and c:\windows\profiles
reinstalled windows about 4 times
reinstalled my "Client for Microsoft" driver
went to Control Pannel\Passwords made sure there wasn't one
went to Control Pannel\Users (the ony opion was to create one)
and now I'm here
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
You were only supposed to delete the folder inside C:\windows\profiles. It's a system Folder. Have a look in C:\windows to see if it has recreated itself. If not, you'll have to recreate it and make it a system file using a DOS command.

I have only user here. I have no profiles in the folder.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
You said you had been to those links. But you only listed a few of the steps recommended.
Did you try this?
This issue can also occur if the following setting is listed in the registry under the following registry key:


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Network

Disable Password Caching
Whether the value is set to 0 or 1, remove it to resolve this issue.


If not, I think this is important.
 

Unkl Petri

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
7
i did 2 things i deleted AutoLogon in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Network\Real Mode Net in the registry
and i made an empty "Profiles" in c:\windows
--i didn't think either of them would've worked, but it did
I DON'T KNOW WHICH!!
but thanx! BIG TIME
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top