1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't run more than one device on wireless network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by VictoriaC, Aug 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Hi guys!

    Ive always had some kind of trouble with my wireless network. When my computer ran strictly on my modem alone years ago, everything was fine, but then the introduction of my linksys router ruined everything.
    The first issue is that I am never, at any time, able to run more than one device on my wireless network. I can't run my xbox and computer (my Dell desktop is capable of running on a wireless connection), or even a laptop. People who come to my house cant even connect to my network with their phones! (Says connected, but pages wont load)
    The second issue, is that whenever I go on the computer or xbox, I HAVE to reset my router and modem by yanking the power and letting it reconnect. Everytime. And recently, my internet has been dropping out of nowhere (I am connected, but I have no internet access)
    Id really appreciate any kind of help, the problems Im having are getting progressively worse. My family cant run a computer and a laptop at the same time and it is very frustrating!
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Hi VictoriaC, and welcome to TSG.

    When you have your laptop or desktop operating with a working connection to the router, open a DOS/Command screen.
    Enter an IPCONFIG /ALL command. Select, copy and paste the entire set of results into a new post in this thread.

    Assuming you are able to log into the router's admin pages, please let us know:
    1) If DHCP is enabled on the Wireless/LAN ports
    2) The DHCP range on the Wireless/LAN ports
    3) The sub-net mask on the Wireless/LAN ports
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Also ...

    Is the modem connected to the router's WAN (or Modem or Internet) port and not a LAN (numbered) port?

    What is the brand and model of the modem? The model of the Linksys router?
     
  4. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Hi guys! I curently have a Linksys WRT54G2 V1. Firmware is up to date and everything. The modem is connected to a numbered port as it is the only way I can get an internet connection on my PC. The computer is connected to the Internet port of my router. Im currently on my PC now, and my ipconfig came to:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ChippysPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nyc.rr.com

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 82-06-E6-A4-A8-1D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-06-E6-A4-A8-1E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-06-E6-A4-A8-1D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6d07:dcf5:3886:7e77%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 67.247.61.190(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 14, 2012 2:01:11 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 14, 2012 3:01:07 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 67.247.56.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.86.96.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 383780582
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-80-39-C6-D4-BE-D9-A6-09-0A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D4-BE-D9-A6-09-0A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{70A1B3DB-9E58-4755-A95D-661518904AF2}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:43f7:3dbe::43f7:3dbe(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8028C31A-46E5-486C-BD3E-3F8A8088D2DD}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.nyc.rr.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2ca3:3cdf:bc08:c241(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2ca3:3cdf:bc08:c241%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{77E9197E-BC9D-4032-88E3-D341CA6A652F}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    EDIT: To answer an earlier question, I cannot access my routers admin page with the connection I am on now. I have to rearrange my ethernet cables until the page comes up.
    There is also no ip address conflict to my knowlege either. (I know sometimes this causes people to have to reset their router/modem everytime they want to connect a device) My router is set to 192.168.1.1 and my xbox is 192.168.1.101... Not sure what else it could be
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    You said that you are not connecting the modem to your router's WAN port. Thus, you are using it as only an ethernet switch and wireless access point. Since your modem is apparently a modem only, and you are paying for only one public IP address you can get internet access on only one device at a time. And you have to power cycle the modem when switching the device. Perfectly normal operation.

    Unplug the modem and router and shut down computers and other devices.

    Connect modem to router's WAN port and a computer to a router LAN port.

    Plug in modem. Plug in router. Boot computer. You should now have internet access and be able to login to the router for any additional configuration desired. Connect other computers and devices and they should also have internet access.
     
  7. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    TerryNet
    im currently writing on my phone. I tried the setup you told me as well as power cycling my modem and wasn't able to access the internet on either my PC or xbox (connected to network, but not internet). I am however, able to access my routers admin page with this setup
     
  8. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    And i apologize for my lack of understanding when it comes to networking. I hate dealing with this stuff. But if I'm only paying for one public IP address, am i doomed to power cycling and using one computer at a time forever? Ill call our ISP to see if we can have a modem with router capabilities installed, but only if w eabsolutely have to
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Check the WAN (Internet) status to see if it was assigned an IP configuration (should be similar to the post # 4 wireless IPv4, mask, gateway, DNS server) or if there is any useful error message in the log.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Re your post # 8, we should be able to get you working with your current equipment. However, the router could be defective (I have a couple like that, including one that failed after two days). Or there could be a problem with the cable between modem and router. Or there could be some other rare problem. But the darn thing should be working now.

    Just for the record, what is the brand and model of the modem?
     
  11. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Ive got a uBee even though I'm not sure of the exact model name (doesnt say on the underside of it and ive long lost the box for it)... Im going to guess DDM3513 Docsis 3.0?

    ****EDIT: I lie, Im almost positive its U10C018 ubee docsis 2.0, upon further reasearch
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Thanks, just wanted to make sure it is a modem only. Should add one more thing to my post # 6: Make sure nothing is connected by USB to the modem.
     
  13. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Should I try power cycling the modem again without the USB connected to it? My uBee has a direct connection to my computer via USB. Does that affect anything really? My previous modem didnt have this so I thought it was odd but i connected it anyway
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Yes, please; unplug for at least 30 seconds.

    Yes, you can get your one public IP via USB if the computer has the proper driver installed. I don't really think that is happening here, but maybe the modem is being inconsistent somehow. Better to have only the USB or only the ethernet connected to the modem until you are sure you know what is happening.
     
  15. VictoriaC

    VictoriaC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Tried power cycling it with the modem in the wan port of my router and without the usb in the modem and still nothing on either device. I even had difficulty getting back on my PC power cycling and using the setup I discovered to get a connection on there. Perhaps its just my router? When I connect the pc to the modem directly the internet works fine
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064993