1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't see picture on my video files!

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by batazer, May 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. batazer

    batazer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hello this just started today. When I double click on my video files (mainly MPEG) and receive sound but no picture. I use Winamp to play my video files but I have also checked if this was solely Winamp's problem by using the default player Windows Media Player - and it still didn't show any picture.

    Now my video files were working perfectly yesterday, it's weird that something changes drastically because I havn't messed around with settings for anything. Stupid computers.

    Any help? Thanks
     
  2. batazer

    batazer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hello this just started today. When I double click on my video files (mainly MPEG) and receive sound but no picture. I use Winamp to play my video files but I have also checked if this was solely Winamp's problem by using the default player Windows Media Player - and it still didn't show any picture.

    Now my video files were working perfectly yesterday, it's weird that something changes drastically because I havn't messed around with settings for anything. Stupid computers.

    Any help? Thanks
     
  3. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    If you have Windows Automatic Updates enabled check to see if if you got one.
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    59,982
    First Name:
    Chuck
  5. Cyps

    Cyps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    You may just have a corrupted codec. Do a search on Google and download the K-Lite free codec pack and install it. This should sort out this problem for you.
     
  6. batazer

    batazer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Does anyone know a good codec uninstaller?
     
  7. batazer

    batazer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Shall I uninstall every codec I have then get the K-Lite codec pack?
     
  8. Cyps

    Cyps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    K-lite will uninstall any corrupted or similar outdated codecs, but will ask you first. Check through the list it presents to you and untick anything you don't need. For my own purposes I've simply followed K-Lite's suggestions and installed what it suggested with no problems so far.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/568915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice