1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't send out email

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by philip1519, Oct 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. philip1519

philip1519 Thread Starter

When I try to send email in Outlook Express I get an error message that states : server rejects senders email address...server response:'553 authentication is required to send as johnz.doejr. I have recently changed my email address by ommitting the "jr" and then, after having this problem, I accessed outlook>tools>properties>mail>general(correct order?) and typed in the new address sans the "jr" but the server still seems not to recognize my new address. Any ideas? I'm very new to this world.

2. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

I do not use OE, but try the following:

Select Tools on the Outlook Express menu and open the Accounts item
    Click the Mail tab to show all your email accounts
    Highlight the email account you are using, and click the Properties button to show the settings
    Click the Servers tab, which shows you all the mail server settings
    In the Outgoing Mail Server section, make sure the "My server requires authentication" checkbox is checked
    Click the Settings... button next to it and be sure the "Use the same settings as my incoming mail server" option is selected.

3. philip1519

Thanks Kiwiguy but all was as you said it should be and I am still stuck. Any other ideas?

4. DVOM

DVOM

How did you change your email address? Did you change ISP's or did you have your ISP create another email account?

The problem could be on their end and not yours.

5. philip1519