1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Set Up my Zoom wireless Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nelson1973, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nelson1973

    Nelson1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I was advised by a friend to get a zoom wireless router so that I can use my ipod and laptops at the sme time. My i nternet is provided by a vodafone contract dongle. I followed the instructions in the quick set up guide and all my gadgets recognize Zoom but i cannot access the internet! Please help its driving me crazy!!!!!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Make and exact model and hardware version of any other network equipment, like a repeater, a booster, hi-gain antenna, etc.
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • Have you tried to do a system restore to before the problem occurred?
    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • For wireless connection issues, have you removed all the stored wireless network profiles and then searched for the network?
    • For wireless laptops, have you made SURE the wireless switch is on?
    • For wired connection issues, have you booted in Safe Mode with Networking to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?





    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. Nelson1973

    Nelson1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Ok some of that makes no sense to me at all but I will do my best.

    The Router is a Zoom 3G wireless-N

    My internet is provided via a dongle from vodafone it is called HUAWEI mobile connect - 3G modem

    I have too computers both HP one is a laptop one is a notebook both with windows 7 I also tried to connect my IPOD Touch.

    It is a wireless connection but I also tried using it via the ethernet cable.

    I was advised to set it to WEP

    the browser is Internet Explorer.

    With the router i received a quick set up guide which i followed, the computer found the connection but when I tried to connect it asked me to set up a network, then asked for a Pin number which it said can be found on the label underneath the bar code. I tried every number on there and none of them were correct.
    It gave me another option to connect without doing this, I tried this option whilst connected through the ethernet cable but was still unable to get online. It did allow me to go to the routers set up page and I followed the instructions but it still fails to work. I went into Troubleshoot Network problems and it came up with error 31.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Coyle's Angel>
    C:\Users\Coyle's Angel>PING 74.125.45.100
    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=349ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=338ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=338ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=338ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 338ms, Maximum = 349ms, Average = 340ms
    C:\Users\Coyle's Angel>PING yahoo.com
    Pinging yahoo.com [67.195.160.76] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=381ms TTL=54
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=373ms TTL=54
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=319ms TTL=54
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=362ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 67.195.160.76:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 319ms, Maximum = 381ms, Average = 358ms
    C:\Users\Coyle's Angel>NBTSTAT -n
    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []
    No names in cache
    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []
    No names in cache
    Vodafone Mobile Connect:
    Node IpAddress: [10.57.203.94] Scope Id: []
    NetBIOS Local Name Table
    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    COYLESANGEL <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    C:\Users\Coyle's Angel>IPCONFIG /ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CoylesAngel
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    PPP adapter Vodafone Mobile Connect:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Vodafone Mobile Connect
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.57.203.94(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.205.65.68
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.11.12.13
    Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 10.11.12.14
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-60-76-53-42-3D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-9E-3D-84-34
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0507B370-DF68-41E8-A0B5-34028CBC058C}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0FC17BF8-F923-4FF4-AA2F-7486A9697419}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{57EC290E-181A-4A18-A6F2-AB9EF76ED93E}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73bc:3cff:c506:2b48:73cf(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3cff:c506:2b48:73cf%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Coyle's Angel>

    not sure if this is the correct information but hope it helps you advise me

    Thanks

    There was an op
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    Would be better if you set the ethernet to be a dynamic connection, and the output is needed from an attempt to use the router. Try to connect to it by ethernet and wireless and show the results.

    To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista or 7 computer:

    1. Click Start.
    2. Select Network, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Manage network connections or Change adapter settings from the list of tasks.
    3. Right click the connection of interest and click Properties.
    4. Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list and click the Properties button.
    5. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    6. Select Obtain DNS Server address automatically.
    7. Click OK.
    8. Click Close.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917633

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice