1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant Share c:\

Discussion in 'Networking' started by NetGuru(), May 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NetGuru()

NetGuru() Thread Starter

Im very new at networking. Now I have two pc, so i decided to conect them with windows xp pro. Everything is going fine, except for one thing - I cant share c:\ and i dont Know why.

The computers says something like "folder was shared for administrative rights", and a c$ appears as the sharing name. The problem is that I cant open many of the folders in c:\, and some others I can.

I would like to experiment some things, but for that i need to have drive c shared

I know this must be a very simple problem, but i need help, please...

2. lunchbox

lunchbox

You should be able to access that share using //PCNAME/C$

If not, You should be able to access it by right clicking the drive in my computer, File sharing and ticking the boxes.

If that does not work you can disable the administrative shares

*Exert from MS website*

Delete a hidden share
    To delete a hidden share, follow these steps:
    1. In Control Panel, double-click Administrative Tools, and then double-click Computer Management.
    2. Expand Shared Folders, and then click Shares..
    3. In the Shared Folder column, right-click the share that you want to delete, click Stop sharing, and then click OK.

*END*

Hope this helps!

3. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

Have you tried creating another share. Usually I don't like to use the administrative ones like C$. You shouldn't need to delete this in the process. Just create a new one.

4. NetGuru()

NetGuru() Thread Starter