1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't share my internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kuco031, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Hello. 1st I'd like to excuse myself for possible grammatical fails in my problem, I'm not American nor Britainian so please accept my excuse.

    Okay, here's the problem.

    I'm connecting to internet via Wi-Fi USB adapter and my connection works great. But few days ago friend brought his PC to me so we could do some online gaming over night but there my problems started. We connected both PC's with ethernet cable in this scheme (My PC - ethernet cable - unset router - ethernet cable - his PC)

    Okay the problem is that when I set up the LAN, I can't connect to the internet ( I noticed that I can surf the internet when I share my Wireless connection in advanced settings, so I use that trick to connect to the Internet when I need to ) but we can play in LAN.

    So here's the real conflict. Why can't I share my internet connection to his PC. I allow my Wireless Network Connection sharing but he can't connect to the internet.

    We're both using WinXP SP3 and we have almost same PC's. So can anyone help me?

    I am even willing to use TeamViewer for easier help if someone can help me?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    we do not permit this type of support- all has to stay on the forum

    do you have a router- what are you connecting your wireless to - does your friend PC have wireless at all

    how to share XP
    TURN ON ICS
    TURN ON ICS - for internet sharing

    General
    -------
    TURN ON ICS - for internet sharing
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Using-ICS-Internet-Connection-Sharing

    XP
    --
    TURN ON ICS - for internet sharing - for windows XP
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/expert/crawford_02july01.mspx
     
  3. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    yeah i do. I connect to Zyxel HW660
    http://www.josemariscal.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/12/router_zyxel_660hw-61.jpg

    And nope he doesnt have any kind of wireless

    i already tryed ICS but doesn't work either. And btw I dont get this message when I turn on network sharing:
    "When Internet Connection Sharing is enabled, your LAN adapter will be set to use IP
    address 192.168.0.1. Your computer may lose connectivity with other computers on
    your network. If these other computers have static IP addresses, it is a good idea to set them
    to obtain their IP addresses automatically. Are you sure you want to enable Internet
    Connection Sharing?"
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    You're connecting to one router via Wi-Fi and a second router via ethernet and the other computer is connecting to the second router? If so, when you enable ICS on your computer you also want to disable the Dhcp server on the second router.
     
  6. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Im using Zyxel 660HW-T3 to connect to the internet via my Wi-Fi usb adapter (on my main PC)

    But I connected our 2 PC's with Siemens Gigaset SX 763 - settings in it arent installed and for LAN it works just fine but doesn't transfer my internet whom I've shared.

    Oh and the other router has no familiarities with my main internet router. I just use it so i could connect our 2 pc's because if i connect our pc's directly with ethernet cable it says "cable unplugged" in pc
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    OK, just disable the Dhcp server in the Siemens and you should be good.
     
  8. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Okay did that, now i get limited connectivity on both PC's. What do you guys suggest?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    if you are connecting two routers together

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together
    From a John Will Post :)

    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/Connecting_two_SOHO_broadband_routers_together

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Here's the deal. I don't have cros-over cable nor I can't place cable over whole living room because the router is on completely opposite side of room.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    so i'm missing something - sorry

    Explain in detail what equipment you have an how its all connected together now and working - and then how you would like to have it all connected together

    i assume you read through the ICS links i posted and set up correctly
     
  12. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Okay I've used your guide with some of my expirience and made it work.

    Now when I made it work it was working for ful 3 minutes and now it says on both PC that there is connection but he can't surf. Do you guys have any idea what could be possibly being?
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    even if only for a few minutes
     
  14. kuco031

    kuco031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Oh sorry i missed that line. I'll try to draw the scheme for you guys

    Zyxel(Primary router with working Internet connection) - Wireless connection - My PC - Ethernet cable - Siemens Gigaset Router (disabled DHCP) - Ethernet Cable - Friends PC

    We've noticed that from time to time we can connect to Internet via friends PC but we'd like to keep connection up whole time
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    have you tried

    Zyxel(Primary router with working Internet connection) - Wireless connection - My PC - Ethernet cable - Friends PC
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059946