1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Shutdown or Restart Windows XP. Gets hung up at "Windows is shutting down" scr

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sreedchi, Feb 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sreedchi

    sreedchi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    I'm not sure where to go. I don't remember when this problem arose, as I don't shut down very often.

    Here is my HJT log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 1:14:23 PM, on 2/27/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\brsvc01a.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\brss01a.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\BCMSMMSG.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswctrl.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\DSentry.exe
    C:\Program Files\Dell\Media Experience\PCMService.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
    C:\Program Files\MusicMatch\MusicMatch Jukebox\mmtask.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe
    C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Visual Networks\Visual IP InSight\SBC\IPClient.exe
    C:\Program Files\Visual Networks\Visual IP InSight\SBC\IPMon32.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SBCSEL~1\SMARTB~1\MotiveSB.exe
    C:\Program Files\Scansoft\PaperPort\pptd40nt.exe
    c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsescn.exe
    C:\Program Files\NoAds\NoAds.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsrte.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\WLTRYSVC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcmwltry.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\BRMFRSMG.EXE
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcshield.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Main Office\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 127.0.0.1
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    O1 - Hosts: 64.91.255.87 www.dcsresearch.com
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5CA3D70E-1895-11CF-8E15-001234567890} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswshx.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshl.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIModeChange] Ati2mdxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BCMSMMSG] BCMSMMSG.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPLpr] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dla] C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswctrl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StorageGuard] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DVDSentry] C:\WINDOWS\System32\DSentry.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCMService] "C:\Program Files\Dell\Media Experience\PCMService.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VSOCheckTask] "c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcmnhdlr.exe" /checktask
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcupdate.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [mmtask] c:\Program Files\MusicMatch\MusicMatch Jukebox\mmtask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VirusScan Online] "c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IPInSightLAN 01] "C:\Program Files\Visual Networks\Visual IP InSight\SBC\IPClient.exe" -l
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IPInSightMonitor 01] "C:\Program Files\Visual Networks\Visual IP InSight\SBC\IPMon32.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Motive SmartBridge] C:\PROGRA~1\SBCSEL~1\SMARTB~1\MotiveSB.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PaperPort PTD] C:\Program Files\Scansoft\PaperPort\pptd40nt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IndexSearch] C:\Program Files\Scansoft\PaperPort\IndexSearch.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NoAds] "C:\Program Files\NoAds\NoAds.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] 1
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0401.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4ED9DDF0-7479-4BBE-9335-5A1EDB1D8A21} (McAfee.com Operating System Class) - http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/shared/mcinsctl/en-us/4,0,0,76/mcinsctl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {7DD62E58-5FA8-11D2-AFB7-00104B64F126} (Sview Control) - http://www.swiftview.com/product/current/svinstall_a_stat_notiff.cab
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yse/ymmapi_416.dll
    O16 - DPF: {BCC0FF27-31D9-4614-A68E-C18E1ADA4389} (DwnldGroupMgr Class) - http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/shared/mcgdmgr/en-us/1,0,0,16/mcgdmgr.cab
    O16 - DPF: {C2CFE28D-36EA-4E38-A9E6-092E3C95070C} (I1POINT.BorrowerList) - https://www.info1online.com/Screens/GetLOSCab.asp?LOSType=151
     
  2. noahdfear

    noahdfear Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Check this out.
     
  3. sreedchi

    sreedchi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    I don't think that is it. This is a brand new Dell Laptop (2 months old) that should have all the updates on XP. Plus, I am not able to use the mouse. It hangs up at "Windows is shutting down"
     
  4. Quijbe

    Quijbe

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    can you get into the BIOS and see that APCI is enabled ?
     
  5. spotts2244

    spotts2244

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I have a new dell as well... Similar problem. Mine is a laptop latitude d600. called dell they think it is a driver conflict problem.
    i have seen many people with similar probs on dell messageboards. Of course the dell tech said i was the first to complain.

    Sorry no answer, but your not alone...

    spotts2244
     
  6. spotts2244

    spotts2244

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I have a new dell as well... Similar problem. Mine is a laptop latitude d600. called dell they think it is a driver conflict problem.
    i have seen many people with similar probs on dell messageboards. Of course the dell tech said i was the first to complain.

    Sorry no answer, but your not alone...

    spotts2244
     
  7. sreedchi

    sreedchi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Only if someone walks me through it! I have no idea what that even means. Sorry.
     
  8. Y4J

    Y4J

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    To get to bios, when your laptop first starts up, it should tell you to press something like F1 or F10 to get to bios, and once in the bios, check to see if it's enabled. Not really sure where it is, b ut it shouldn't take long to find it.
     
  9. Quijbe

    Quijbe

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    ACPI, is what allows your computer to shut down and hibernate as many laptops do, and I was thinking perhaps the laptop was not shutting down proeprly becuase of this. just providing an option to look at. I'm not certain where precisly to find it in the BIOS as I am not fimiliar with the BIOS Dell uses. It may not have setting for it at all.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/207325