1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't sign into certain sites thru ie 6.1

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by annnnnnna, Apr 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. annnnnnna

    annnnnnna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I have a problem only with IE .. we have the latest version 6.1 with an update... and when I want to sign into Ebay (my ebay) i can't! Thru aol, there is no problem. I did everything i could in options, i downloaded and fixed with spybot, I am not behind a firewall... and i have no idea why certain sites (especially this one: it's not encrypted) i can't open... after a few minutes, it show an error message : the page can't be displayed.
    Does anyone know what I can do?
     
  2. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Download Hijackthis.
    Create a folder on your hard drive and save it there.
    Unzip the file and extract it to the folder you have created.
    Scan your machine, then click on Save Log.

    Post a copy back here and someone will be happy to review it.

    Don't make any changes until instructed to do so.
     
  3. annnnnnna

    annnnnnna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Here is my Log!... also.. we tried to get through with ie on my dad's computer with a modem, and it worked, where it did not through dsl.. but he has 98se, so no option of firewall.. is it possible that there is some sort of physical firewall on the router or something?
    thanks! :D

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 2:42:13 PM, on 4/19/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0a\aoltray.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\Palm\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\Documents and Settings\Magdalena\My Documents\computer problems\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\bin\jusched.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: Hotmail Popper.lnk = C:\Program Files\Hotmail Popper\hotpop.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Palm\HOTSYNC.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: Post-it® Software Notes Lite.lnk = C:\Program Files\3M\PSNLite\PsnLite.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: America Online 9.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0a\aoltray.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://cgi1.ebay.com
    O16 - DPF: {33564D57-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71} - http://download.microsoft.com/download/F/6/E/F6E491A6-77E1-4E20-9F5F-94901338C922/wmv9VCM.CAB

    :confused:
    Also: when i tried to send post this reply via IE, it gave me this response!?
    Bad request!
    Your browser (or proxy) sent a request that this server could not understand.
    If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster
    Error 400
    forums.techguy.org
    Mon 19 Apr 2004 02:49:37 PM EDT
    Apache/2.0.40 (Red Hat Linux)
     
  4. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    In IE Go to Tools, Internet Options, Privacy, Edit and make sure ebay is not in the managed web sites as blocked. If it is click on it and then click on Remove.

    I get that same error from TSG sometimes too.
     
  5. annnnnnna

    annnnnnna Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    no.. ebay is not on that list :(
    I really don't know .. it's wierd :i've tried just about everything i know..!
     
  6. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Do they have a FAQ page?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221716

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice