Can't sign into encrypted sites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

perry_

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
21
I'm not able to sign into encrypted sites like yahoo, hotmail or even MSN Messenger. What should I do? Seems to be some kind of virus?
 

daz1

Banned
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
2,664
you should be getting an error code, if so look it up at microsoft if any probs post back the codes
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
Do you have a firewall installed that blocks cookies and especially Private Headers like Zone Alarm Pro ?
 

perry_

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
21
On messenger I get error code 80048820. I can log into it within about 15 minutes of booting my computer the FIRST time but if I restart it won't work until the next day. Same with other encrypted sites, after about 15 minutes I can't load encrypted pages, I get the "Server is taking to long to respond" page on Firefox.
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
Ah. That tells me a bit more. This is often caused due to Incorrect Time/Date Settings in Windows. So the first thing you should do is make sure that you system has got the correct clock settings. To change the system time setting, just double-click on the time display on your Taskbar (usually in the lower right corner of your screen).
 

perry_

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
21
I've already tried that :( it had been working for the last 4 months (since I last reformatted my hard drive) and all of a sudden it stopped working. System restore doesn't even correct the problem.
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
Just for fun, try a different browser. If you're not using Firefox, give it a go. If it works, then we'll know it was your browser...IE?
 

perry_

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
21
I've tried it on both FF and IE, think I should just reformat? Sounds kinda like a virus to me even though AVG nor Norton found one.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
55
This issue can be caused for several reasons. Mainly, it pertains with IE cookie and network settings or possible spyware that is intercepting traffic.


You should try to completely reset all of Internet Explorer's settings.
- If you have IE6 click here.
- If you have IE7 click here.

Then, run the usual set of Anti-Spyware programs:

Download them, install them, update them. Scan your computer and remove what they suggest. Reboot your computer and try again. :)
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
55
perry_ said:
I've tried it on both FF and IE, think I should just reformat? Sounds kinda like a virus to me even though AVG nor Norton found one.
You have both? ... you only need one. I suggest uninstalling Norton, and running the SYMNRT utility to remove the remaining files.

I suggest also changing your HOSTS file with the one explained here.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top