1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant uninstall Mozilla

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by sd334, Nov 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sd334

    sd334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    HI - I have been having some issues with Mozilla and wanted to reinstall. I tried to uninstall with Add & remove etc and it kept saying Program is in use. I made sure it wasnt and tried again. Same result. I rebooted the pc - same thing. I downloaded Mozilla again and when I try to install it also tells me to close the program first...H-E-L-P please?????
    ssd334

    PS Not sure if you want this info but here it is.

    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 6 Stepping 4
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2039 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family, 224 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 78160 MB, Free - 11252 MB; D: Total - 160312 MB, Free - 98565 MB;
    Motherboard: , ConRoe1333-DVI/H
    Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. jesseyoung

    jesseyoung

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    216
  3. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Mozilla what?

    Mozilla has many programs.
    Firefox
    Thunderbird
    Seamonkey
    etc
     
  4. sd334

    sd334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for taking the time to read my plea for help.
    The program that I cannot uninstall is Mozilla Firefox 7.01
    I have tried the Windows Add & Remove, Revo uninstaller and still get CLOSE THE PROGRAM. I have rebooted and tried all of this again and still no luck
    sd334
     
  5. zbd21

    zbd21

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    547
  6. mtzlplex

    mtzlplex Account Closed

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,650
  7. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    One added thing is if you have two login profiles you need to make sure it's not running in the other profile.
    If you do then go to the other profiles and open Firefox. Do this in case it had a bad shutdown and Firefox gives you the option when it startd to restore last session.
    Maybe this is what happen and is why some file is in use that gives you that message.

    So check all other Firefox profiles and open each to rule this out or fix the just maybe fix the trouble.
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    If no luck with the above, try uninstalling Firefox in Safe Mode.

    In Safe Mode, the Windows Installer service won't start. Download SafeMSI to make the Windows Installer service start in Safe Mode. Run the program while in Safe Mode.

    Try uninstalling Firefox.

    To reinstall Firefox, do the same but in Safe Mode with Networking.
     
  9. sd334

    sd334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the great advice Phantom.
    I am truly grateful that you have solved this problem for me.
    Have a great day
    sd334
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Glad I could help! (y) :)
     
  11. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Thanks Phantom010. That's a cool program
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    It can be done with a simple registry tweak as well. However, it's even simpler with the program.
     
  13. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    So can you undo the tweak also?

    Does not say much on how it works and the screenshot does not show much so is it that each time you open SafeMSI it turns Windows Installer service on and off?
     
  14. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Thanks Phantom010, great little tool to have on hand. I duplicated on my Utilities flash drive.
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Yes but why undo it?

    If you must, here's the actual registry tweak:

    Code:
     
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
     
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\SafeBoot\Minimal\MSIServer]
    @="Service"
    
    For Safe Mode with Networking:

    Code:
     
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
     
    HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\SafeBoot\Network\MSIServer
    @="Service"
    
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026391

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice