Can't Uninstall VB6.0, tries to install Mediaone+ instead.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JSam69

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
3
I have XP pro. In the add/remove programs menu, Visual Basic 6.0 is listed as taking up 16 g of disk space. When I click on remove, a menu pops up asking me if I would like to install Mediaone+. I obviously don't, so I click cancel. This then cancels the uninstallation as well.

Recently, I downloaded McAfee Viruscan 7.1 from my school network. When trying to install that, the same menu pops up asking me if I want to install mediaone+. When I click cancel, it cancels the installation of VS 7.1 as well.

I don't know what this is. I ran adaware and Spybot S&D, assuming that it was spyware, but the problem still exists. I even ran regedit.exe and deleted all instances of "Mediaone+". Still nothing.

I even went through with the mediaone+ installation, just to see what would happen. It installed the program as usual, but the pop up menu still remained when trying to install McAfee and while trying to uninstall VB.

Please help me. Thanks,

-Joe
 

JSam69

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
3
I downloaded the utility. Mediaone+ doesn't show up, even when it is installed, so I can't remove it.

Is this a virus? I'll go to the mediaone site and ask them, but that is just so weird. What would viruscan and visual basic have in common that would trigger this?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Are you getting any error messages,if so,can you post the entire message?
 

JSam69

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
3
No. I'm not getting any error message. The only problem that I'm having is when I try to install McAfee Viruscan 7.1, a menu box pops up and asks me if I would like to install mediaone+. If I say yes, it installs mediaone. If I say no, it cancels the setup. I can't get McAfee on my computer, and that's really all I care about.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
If you have a mediaone+ folder in your program files,open it and look for an uninstaller.If that doesn't work,let the mediaone+ installation continue to completion then try the The Windows Installer CleanUp Utility again
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
534
Mediaone+ is an MP3 player. Do a Google or Yahoo search for more info.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top