cant use my tv as a monitor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

titanium_soul

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
183
title is the problem i have a geforce 7300gs and it wont detect my tv or however it works but i had 2 use an avi to s video converter as my tv dos'nt have any s video port. The tv isint even a month old however its a crt flatscreen and is not hd
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
avi to Svideo? Do you mean DVI? what kind of TV? What ar you trying to do? Display PC quality HI-RES graphics (1280x1024) or NTSC video output (720x480 - roughtly) Does TV have VGA or DVI connectors.
 

titanium_soul

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
183
its a vga tv not HDTV or anything like that i got it to work but its wayy too choppy and i cant read small text and i have played with all the settings but to no vail any ideas and cheers for the reply
 

titanium_soul

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
183
i have tried all that and the tv is only a month old the only thing it does ok is play games everything else is horrible
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
So... the VGA connector on the TV doesn't work? Did you reduce the video res on the PC to 800x600 - the TV's manual will tell you the MAX RES & settings it can handle.

Using a SVideo --> RCA (I guess) cable would produce horrible results.
 

titanium_soul

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
183
no it works fine i have an s video to scart iv tried resolutions refresh rates u name it and its a horrid picture
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
40
titanium_soul said:
no it works fine i have an s video to scart iv tried resolutions refresh rates u name it and its a horrid picture
It sounds like you are using a CRT-based TV (big, heavy tube), rather than a LCD/plasma set. I am also going to asusme that you are using a composite, S-video or SCART as the input. (not VGA, component or DVI/HDMI.)

Unless specifically designed as an HDTV-ready set, tube TVs are very low resolution. The highest resolution you should expect to be usable as a PC display will be 640x480. (assuming composite, S-video or SCART inputs) Anything higher will be very fuzzy. This is simply a function of the TV's components and inputs.

If you need a big PC display, buy a big PC display. :)

A. Woolf
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
You may want to contact tech support for the TV.

It was still asked what TV is it. Sony 27M53, etc etc...
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
3,765
You will never get a good picture with S-video. never ever. Unless you're using something like a DVI to HDMI connector (which you can't) then hoping for a high resolution on TV's is pointless.
LCD, Plasma and some rear projection TVs have HDMI connectors, and some of them also have DVI connectors. These will produce the best picture.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
3,765
Compiler said:
avi to Svideo? Do you mean DVI? what kind of TV? What ar you trying to do? Display PC quality HI-RES graphics (1280x1024) or NTSC video output (720x480 - roughtly) Does TV have VGA or DVI connectors.
I think he meant vga
 

titanium_soul

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
183
if i could atleat get xp to go into 640x480 then it would be acceptable and yes im using vga
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top