Can't view BIOS or DOS

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

yankee888

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
9
I seem to have problems with my computer. Whenever I use the DOS prompt in Full Screen mode, all I get is a black screen; no text, no window borders, no nothing. When I boot up, I'm supposed to see other text stuff usually seen at bootup and the Windows XP screen, but I see none of that either, just a black screen. Oh yah, and I can't view BIOS either. I can get in, but I can't see anything.

If I switch monitors though, it's fine, and I see everything.

I have a GeForce 4 Ti 4200 with AGP 8x, with the newest drivers. And a KDS Radius Rad-7c 17" LCD Monitor. I'm also using XP Pro.

ANY ideas as to what is going on? It's really getting annoying when I have to switch monitors to get into BIOS. Thanks,

-Mike
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
LCD monitors will refuse to display if the refresh rate is incorrect.

As they don't need to "refresh" in the normal sense, they usually are fixed at 60 or 62 Hz.

If your system is displaying with a refresh rate out of range when in DOS mode thats about what you would see.

How you change it is interesting I guess. If the video card holds its own settings, start there.
 

yankee888

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
9
Well, I put the refresh rate back to 60, but nothing. I'm gonna try the DOS window settings. Thanks kiwiguy,

EDIT: Just tried it, nothing. If anyone has any ideas, please help. Thanks,

-Mike
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I'd see if there's a reset to flush any settings in the flat panel, because that's where the problem lies. It's surprising that it doesn't display the BIOS or DOS, I've never had that problem. I've had it blank and tell me the settings are incorrect when I have the wrong refresh rate or resolution selected.
 

yankee888

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
9
If you're talking about the "reset" option on my monitor's menu, then I've tried that a few times-nothing. Thanks,

-Mike
 

yankee888

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
9
Damn, I just tried that again, (I had already done it a few times awhile ago), but I got nothing. Thanks though. Any other ideas?

-Mike
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I just tried this on my system, also a flat TFT, and noticed that there is a momentary suspend to a black screen before switching to the command shell full screen mode.

I'm wondering if there is not some conflict preventing this monitor from coming out of that suspend state.

In any case as far as the command shell goes, you of course have the option of not using full screen to start with and just stretch the screen as large as you want, or set the properties to a different Window size. You can set the Window size through the layout tab.

This does nothing for the BIOS problem obviously which is especially strange, since it is peculiar to one monitor.
 

yankee888

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
9
Hey thanks Rollin' Rog. I'll look into that momentary suspend that you mentioned. I don't really care about the full-screen command prompt, it's BIOS that really bugs me.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Is the monitor under warranty? It really sounds defective to me. I haven't looked at what support options are offered at KDS, but I would sure like to know what they say about it. The BIOS issue, assuming it is a relatively recent motherboard, leaves nothing but defective hardware as a suspect.
 

yankee888

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
9
Yah, I remember emailing KDS awhile ago, but got nothing back. I friend of mine built me the computer back in January, so he has all the paperwork, etc. for each of the parts. I'll have to get them from him. Thanks, Rollin' Rog.

-Mike
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top