Can'y find my floppy drive! HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mangraskin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
3
I just got a brand new computer, now when I click the "My Computer" icon, I can't find the "a" or floppy drive. All of the other drive show & work properly. I tried to fix it by going into the computer and making sure that all of the cables were connected, YES they were. So I started trouble shooting! In the end here's what happens. It seems to be the communication cable. When I turn the cable around and pug it in the opposite ends the "floppy" light comes on when I re-boot and it STAYS on! When I click on the "My Computer" icon I can see the floppy drive but when I insert a diskette the computer says that it does not detect a floppy and it askes me to please insert one! So I bought a new communication cable. The same thing happens. I dont know what to do now. Please help!!:(
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Welcome to TSG.
It sounds like the floppy drive is bad if it isn’t showing as the A drive and you have replaced the cable. It is on backward when the light stays on, but it should be detected and work fine plugged in the right way. Have you booted to the CMOS/BIOS to make sure it isn’t somehow deactivated?

Since it is a new computer I would think it is their problem to provide a new one. Or the things are really cheap if it is too much of a hassle to get a replacement.
 

mangraskin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
3
I don't know how to re-boot through the CMOS/BIOS to see if the drive is deactived. Could you please tell me how? The reason I'm going through all of this is because the office that biult my computer has closed down & the owner has left town!(n) Thanks!!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
512
Hi and welcome. Try holding down the delete key as the system starts to boot. It is the most common key tp press when tryin to access the Bios Utility. Once there, see if the Floppy Drv is being recognized under something that might say, "Standard Cmos Setup", particuliarly so if it turns out u hav a Phoenix/Award type Bios. Del key usually works for AMI Bios, as well.
 

mangraskin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
3
That didn't work. It seems as if I have a bad Floppy Drive. I'm just going to change it ALONG with the communication cable and report back to this site. Thanks for the help!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
512
What do u mean when u say it din't work ? Do u mean by sayin that....u were unable to get into the Bios Utility to see if the floppy drv is bein recognized there ?

On the other hand; floppy's can be had for bout $8- 9, @ Newegg.com. Even if u find that there is nothin wrong with the
one u r havin problems with gettin to work; it never hurts to hav a spare one layin aroun for troubleshootin purposes.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top