1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Caps Lock and Num Lock Flashing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Gabuable, Sep 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gabuable

    Gabuable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I recently installed 2x8GB of RAM into my Elitebook 8530p that previously had 2X1GB. When I power my Elitebook on the screen stays off but my keyboard lights cone on and Num lock and Caps lock flash simultaneously in 5 sets of 3.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    The HP EliteBook 8530p Notebook PC supports a maximum of 8 GB of DDR2-800 RAM.
    It has 2 SODIMM slots, so that means you can't install more than 4 GB in each slot.
    4 GB X 2 = 8 GB

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Gabuable

    Gabuable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Apologies, I meant to say 2x8GB totaling 8GB, sorry for the misunderstanding
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you installed 2 - 8 GB modules, that equates to 16 GB of RAM.
    2 X 8 GB = 16 GB

    That model notebook supports a maximum of 8 GB of RAM.
    That means you can't install more than 2 - 4 GB modules in it.
    2 X 4 GB = 8 GB

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Gabuable

    Gabuable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Once again I'm apologize with my utmost cencirity I meant 2x4GB
     
  6. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  7. Gabuable

    Gabuable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you, but how can I check to know if the previously purchased RAM is or isn't compatible. When I bought the 2x4GB they said they were for my computer model, and they fit as expected.
     
  8. DavisMcCarn

    DavisMcCarn

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    The, plain as day test, is to put the original memory back in the laptop and see if it then works. If it does, try one of the new memory modules at a time to see if one of them is bad. If neither work, the ram is either just plain bad or won't work in that laptop.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1196143

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice