1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Caps Lock - key problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by momtaz, Feb 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Hi Guys

    usually when press on "Caps Lock" key it switch the typing letter from small to capital letters and vice versa, since yesterday something went wrong when the "caps lock" key switched the letters to be in capital form, then I pressed the key to reset the function to small letter but it doesn't work! I tried many times and did not work at all, untill I touched the "shift" key wrongly which is just under the "caps lock" key then switched it back to small letters, I practiced it several times and still working this way today also,
    my question: how to switch it back to be working with the "Caps Lock" key only? 1 press to switch the capital letters and another press to reset it back as small,

    regards
     
  2. bicycle bill

    bicycle bill Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,092
    Take a look Here
     
  3. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Hi bicycle, the solution u sent to me is for windows 2000, but my OS is XP,
    thanks for the effort anyway,
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    From bicycle bill's link:

    Windows XP :)
    • Go to the Control Panel and double click the " Regional and Language Options" applet icon.
    • Click the Languages tab, then click on the Details tab.
    • Under the Settings tab, you should see a Key settings tab. This may or may not be greyed out depending if you have additional keyboard definitions installed or not.
    • If not greyed out, select your keyboard, click the Settings tab and put a checkmark next to "Press the Shift Key" for turning off the Caps Lock.
    • Test it out and if the change doesn’t take effect immediately, reboot.

      Windows XP
      [​IMG]
    • If the Key Settings tab is greyed out, click Add and add any other keyboard definition. This should now make the Key Settings tab available.

      [​IMG]
    • Click Apply first and then the Key Settings button and make your change. If you want, you can now delete the keyboard definition you added but doing so will grey out the Key Settings button again.
    Registry Method


    If for whatever reason, you prefer or need to use the Registry to do this, here is how for both Windows 2000 and XP.
    • Click Start > Run, type regedit and click Ok.
    • Go to your keyboard layout key here:
      HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ Keyboard Layout
    • In the right hand pane, look for a Dword value named Attributes.
    • If it exists, double click it, choose Hex format and and change the value to 10000.
    • If it doesn’t exist, create it. Right click an empty area in the right hand pane and choose
      New > DWORD value. Name it Attributes, double click it, and enter the same hex value of 10000.Exit the registry, reboot, and check out the change.
    • Pressing and releasing the Shift key should now turn off the Caps Lock when active..

      [​IMG]
     
  5. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Phantom010, Thanks a lot, it was done accordingly !
    still another issue even I have posted a question about it, but did not receive the appropriate feedback, the question is: as I knew before when need to switch between languages I just press the "tab" key and shift me to other language while I am typing, this fucntion I dont know how to set ii myself now, I used to have this function when I used to bring my PC to the technician to install the OS of new format,
    do u have any idea of it? also when if I have 3 languages installed in my keyboard - the main is English US and another 2 languages,

    many thanks for the kind efforts, very helpful always,
    have a good day,
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Not really sure I understand the question.

    Do you mean the options found when clicking on Language Bar...

    See below:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Phantom010: Example, I am tryping in English, then I need to switch to type in French / Chinese etc, as I knew before there is an option to do this, just press the key "tab" then automatically switch the language..
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Do you mean in a Word document?
     
  9. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Switch between languages or keyboard layouts in Word: Left ALT+SHIFT

    Hope it helps.
     
  11. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    switch languages
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Switch between languages: Left ALT+SHIFT
     
  13. momtaz

    momtaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Phantom010, I tried it, it does not work, as i knew before it works just by pressing the key "tab" I dont know how to set this function,
    Regards
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Sorry, I'm not familiar with the option. :(

    Perhaps you would have more luck in the Business Applications forum.

    Good luck!
     
  15. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,593
    If you did that then how would you use the "tab" function? :confused:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/978560

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice