1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Car Tracker

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by Dingus, Oct 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dingus

Dingus Thread Starter

Hi folks. This will get you thinking.
    I have a car that some would like to steal. For this reason I've been looking at getting a tracker for it. Unfortunately these tracker companies charge a little fortune.
    So I came up with an DIY idea.
    I have an old iPhone 4 that I've enabled 'find my phone' on. Being an engineer I've also been able to give it a 24/7 power supply from my car. Ever if the car battery is disconnected the phone will be powered for over a month due to nothing else, in the phone, being used. One thing it needed was a diode on the + side to stop power being drained in the event of car battery removal.
    The phone has a data only sim card in it so it can transmit continuously if contacted.

Well that's my plan. Just posting here to see if anyone can think of any problem I may come up against.

2. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    How accurately can Find-my-phone pinpoint the phone's location? The phone may lose GPS signals if your stolen car is parked inside a garage in a residential area or inside a commercial building in a built-up industrial area. Would you be 100% certain you could narrow down the location to a given garage or building based solely on cell tower signal strength triangulation?

How well can you hide the phone so that it can not easily be found but still be able to receive GPS signals and connect to a cell tower? If your car goes right to a chop shop to be sold off for its parts, you may not have a lot of time until a poorly hidden phone is discovered.