1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

case types?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PritomD, Oct 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PritomD

    PritomD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    321
    what is the diff between midtower and full, and whats better? ty in advnace

    and will all cases work with AthlonXP processors and mobos? Cause the cases I want say: P4 Compatible......doesnt say anything about athlons...they are ATX like my mobo
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,843
    First Name:
    Rob
    Any ATX case will work. Intel and AMD cases are physically the same. Full is bigger then Midtower, and anything below midtower in size is not even worth considering.

    Generally the bigger the case, the more space, ventilation, and bays. A properly designed and ventilated case is very important for the components in it, plus it adds flexibility. Midtower is the 'normal' size. You have to be careful with the powersupplies included in most cases. These may or may not be P4 or AMD approved or may be very low quality. Even though the claim to be 400Watt, their true output may be more like 350 watt or much less.

    Do you have a specific case in mind?
     
  3. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    'P4 Compatible' usually refers to the power supplies in the cases, and that just means that they have the extra power cord needed by P4 motherboards.

    Mid tower cases are normal sized cases, and should suit you just fine. Full size cases are a lot taller, and have more bays inside for drives and such....but they really are quite big.

    Most of them are probably ATX, and it's pretty safe to assume that they are if they say 'P4 ready'. Those poer quppleis are also compatible with AMD processors, you just don't use the extra power connectors.
     
  4. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Just thought I'd add, some of the AMD motherboards also use the P4 connector.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171941

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice