1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cases

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bigsooner, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bigsooner

    bigsooner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Can I put an ATX motherboard in an AT case? If not can you tell me why?
    Thanks.
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    No you can't. AT motherboards need to go in AT cases and ATX MB's in ATX cases. This is both a design issue,( where things are located on the motherboard) as well as power supply issues.
     
  3. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    No not really, the PSU isn't compatible and the mounting wholes don't match, plus there is no opening for the I/O block, the front panel power switch on a AT formfactor case is a dry contact toggle switch and for the ATX formfactor it's a momentary contact. Also cooling is a big let down in AT case design, so even if you do modify the case to except an ATX formfactor your components will quickly burn up. For the cost of modifying an AT to ATX in cost of parts and burned out components you can buy two ATX case with power supplies

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=11-182-040&depa=1
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=11-150-028&depa=1
     
  4. bigsooner

    bigsooner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Thanks to each of you for a quick response. Guess that changes my plans. Also solved the question!
    Tahnks.
     
  5. Annorax

    Annorax

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Yeah, you are better off buying a new case. You would need to change the power supply, power switch, and backplate.
     
  6. bigsooner

    bigsooner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Hey Annorax, That ain't no thang fo a stepper. I'm retired and have little money and lots of time and some spare parts. "Bout the only thing missing is the new switch. Where can I get some?
    Thanks.
     
  7. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
  8. bigsooner

    bigsooner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Hey, Thanks to all who gave me info.
    Guess this case (no pun) is solved.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cases
  1. Windjamer
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    184
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/269926

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice