1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Catch 22

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by rrdorogi, Apr 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rrdorogi

    rrdorogi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, I hope someone can help me figure out how to resolve this problem. I have windows 98 on my system with plenty of memory as we recently upgraded our memory capacity and my programs should be running very fast, but are'nt. A friend of mine recommended the adaware program to debug any left over internet trash and when we run it, it locates 364 items that need to be removed. When I remove these items the computer runs very very fast until i click on ie or navigator. When i try to access either of these browsers it tells me the internet server is not available, although, i am connected to the internet via earthlink.net. In order to have access to a very very slow internet I have to use the go back feature on my gateway essential which takes the computer back to a safe time (a time before running the adaware). I did call earthlink about this and they can find no problems and recommended i use the system restoration cd that came with the computer to reload? the original software. The cd is cracked and unusable. Please help????
     
  2. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Are you running an UP TO DATE virus program? I would first suggest going to this link from RollinRog and download Stinger, http://forums.techguy.org/t110854.html
    or do one of the online scans. Once that is done, use AdAware and SpyBot Search and Destroy to clean the system. Let us know what you find.
    PS: after getting either spybot or adaware, update the program before you run them. Stinger will be the latest version.

    See Ya
     
  3. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Try running Spybot instead.

    There are some spyware that muck with the winsock settings, and in the past AdAware has had trouble with these and has left machines in a non connectable state. It would appear that they still have that problem.

    As well, download Lspfix which could also correct the winsock settings for you, without using GoBack.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    There are some programs it is still best to remove manually prior to using Ad-Aware or Spybot. Let us see what is currently installed and we will let you know what "pre-cleaning" can be done to lessen the likelihood of the same thing happening.

    Unzip Hijackthis to a permanent folder, run it and select "scan". Then save the scanlog and copy/paste the results here.

    http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/downloads.html
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219158

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice