Caused illegal operation etc.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Don Burgess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
5
Caused stack faulein module winmm.dll

also caused general protection fault in module mmstem.dll
:confused:
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
More information is needed. What operating system are you running? (WinME, Win95, Wi98)?

When are you getting the errors?

What are the full, exact, error messages?
 

Don Burgess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
5
Originally posted by Rollin' Rog
More information is needed. What operating system are you running? (WinME, Win95, Wi98)?

When are you getting the errors?

What are the full, exact, error messages?
Running windows 98 . I get the error message that there was an illegal operation and to close. Also pushed details and got Stack fault in module WINMM.DLL Then the same error message and got Caused general protection fault in module MMSTEM.DLL

these come up at start up after desktop loads.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Do this so we can take a look at your startup programs.

Start>Run, key in msinfo32 and press enter. In the Left pane, double left click on "Software Enviroment" then do the same on "Startup Programs". Now you should see your startup programs in the left pane. Click on Edit>Copy. Now come here and click on "PostReply". Right click in the reply window and select Paste.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Also tell us when the error began happening and if it followed the installation or removal of anything. If it just began in the last 4 days Win98 will allow you to restore a registry which may correct it.

But I'm suspecting either a corrupt winmm.dll or a problem with your sound card drivers. The error may be occuring when Windows plays it's startup sound as the desktop loads.

And since both errors reference windows multimedia files, it might be a good idea to go to Add\Remove programs>windows setup>multimedia and remove and reinstall this set of files to ensure compatibility. You will need your Windows CD for reinstallation, or if you have a c:\windows\options\cabs directory, you can point the reinstall there when prompted.
 

Don Burgess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
5
InControl Desktop Manager Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Diamond\InControl Tools 99\DMHKEY.EXE"
InControl Desktop Manager Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Diamond\InControl Tools 99\DMHKEY.EXE"
EZStart Startup Group "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Office\McAfee Utilities\EZSTART.exe"
trashgrd Startup Group "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Office\McAfee Utilities\TRASHGRD.exe"
Clickguide Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Clickguide\client.exe"
Adobe Gamma Loader.exe Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe"
Logitech Wakeup Startup Group C:\WINDOWS\TWAIN_32\LGTWAIN\LGWAKEUP.EXE
Eyetide Launcher Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Eyetide Media\Eyetide Viewer\EyetideController.exe"
Quicken Startup Startup Group "C:\Program Files\QWDLLS.EXE"
Billminder Startup Group "C:\Program Files\BILLMIND.EXE" -startup
ePrompter Startup Group "C:\Program Files\ePrompter\ePrompter.exe"
AIM Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
Kensington Scroll Mouse Registry (Machine Run) ksmoused.exe
Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Office\McAfee VirusScan\VSHWIN32.EXE
Iomega Startup Options Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Iomega\Common\ImgStart.exe
Iomega Drive Icons Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Iomega\DriveIcons\ImgIcon.exe
LVComs Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LVComS.exe
FileBackPC Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\FILEBA~1\FILEBACK.EXE
Alogserv Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Office\McAfee VirusScan\alogserv.exe
GuardDogEXE Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE OFFICE\INTERNET GUARD DOG\GuardDog.Exe"
McAfee Guardian Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE SHARED COMPONENTS\GUARDIAN\CMGRDIAN.EXE" /SU
Go!Zilla dial-up fix Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOZILLA\GO.EXE" /FIXRAS
AdaptecDirectCD Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe"
SideWinderTrayV4 Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~1\GAMECO~1\COMMON\SWTRAYV4.EXE
New.net Startup Registry (Machine Run) rundll32 C:\WINDOWS\NEWDOT~6.DLL,NewDotNetStartup
QuickTime Task Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
Creative Launcher Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Creative\Launcher\CTLauncher.EXE
AudioHQ Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\AudioHQ\AHQTB.EXE
CreateCD50 Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\ADAPTE~1\CREATECD\CREATE~1.EXE -r
McAfeeVirusScanService Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Office\McAfee VirusScan\AVSYNMGR.EXE
GuardDogEXE Registry (Machine Service) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE OFFICE\INTERNET GUARD DOG\GdLaunch.Exe" q
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
IMHO, you really have way too much stuff loading at startup for a healthy pc. And there are one or two definite "nasties" whose removal may be problematic for you.

But first let's try to determine whether the error you are getting is actually due to a conflict or to a problem with Windows multimedia files or your sound card.

>>Go to Start and run msconfig

>>On the general tab clear the check for "load startup group" and click OK; you will be restarting your computer, so you should be offline when doing this.

With NONE of those startup apps loading, do you still get the error? If YES, then just recheck "load startup group" and try reinstalling your multimedia drivers as I suggested.

If NO, then go back to msconfig and check "selective startup"; click on the "startup" tab and try selectively enabling or disabling startup files until you find the conflict. You can do this by "halves" to expedite the process. There is so much there that could cause a problem, that I'm not even going to suggest specific possibilities
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top