1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CCleaner makes HP Photo and Imaging 2 software want to reinstall some files from disk

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by davidgeer, Jan 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. davidgeer

    davidgeer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I came here after finding the Piriform forums locked and with no answer to this issue.

    After I run CCleaner and reboot, I get a dialog window that starts to install files for HP Photo and Imaging 2 for my HP officejet 4110v all in one printer. When it can't find the files because the CD isn't loaded, it gives an error. When I close it out it does this repeatedly then stops. If I load the CD, it solves the issue until I run CCleaner again.

    I would like to hear from someone familiar with CCleaner who can tell me what settings to change in it before running it so I don't have to go through this over and over again.
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I run CCleaner .. And would be tempted to blame the Problem on HP Imaging.
    Do you really use/need HP Imaging .. I can tell you how to run your Printer/Scanner without it.
    It's one the first things I rip out of a HP computer .. Or do not install it.

    And Welcome to the TSG Forum
     
  3. davidgeer

    davidgeer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for responding.

    I need all four of the all in one printer functions to work fully: print scan fax and copy. Will these all work without HP Imaging?

    If so, then I would be interested to hear how to get rid of HP imaging and ensure it never tries to reinstall itself.
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Not sure about faxing .. You should be able to scan using XP's Scanner and Camera wizard.
    All you need to do this is the basic drivers .. the Twain Driver .. You can DL from HP.
    If this works .. There's a better way .. I use Irfanview
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I don't have any HP software installed ..
    But is there any CCleaner options in Applications that you can uncheck ???
    You're not using it to clean the registry are you ??
     

    Attached Files:

  6. davidgeer

    davidgeer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I was using it to clean the registry. Should that be avoided?
     
  7. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,077
    First Name:
    David
    Yes, and yes it should be avoided.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - CCleaner makes Photo
  1. Laura7491
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    239
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972209

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice