1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cd and dvd are not being read by windows vista

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by onecherokee, Aug 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. onecherokee

    onecherokee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    cd and dvd can;t read or write on system. How can i fix this problem? I ran the fix it but it said an unknown problem was on the . disk how do I fix this.
     
  2. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    Its very possible the cd/dvd drive has had it and might need replaced if it cant read or burn anymore.
     
  3. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    Sometimes, if you uninstall the optical drive in Device Manager then reboot your system it will replace a corrupt driver upon reboot. Otherwise I agree with SUEOHIO, Optical Drives do not last forever. In my experience they are the second most frequent hardware item I have had to replace over the years.
     
  4. onecherokee

    onecherokee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I don't think it is the drive,My dvd-cd player is not removable. I ran the fix it from microsoft and it says problem not identified. HOw do I fix it.
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    Is this Optical Drive in a Laptop?
     
  6. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    Whether a cd/dvd drive is in a laptop or desktop they can be removed its just a lot easier to do in a laptop.If its indeed had it you dont fix them they have to be replaced.
     
  7. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    I am wondering what makes the Optical Drive not removable. on a laptop the only hitch to replacing an optical drive is getting one that the Bezel Matches the Case.
     
  8. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    I cant imagine why it cant be removed either.Im sure any reputable computer repair place can have it out and replaced in no time at all if they have one on hand from a similar model computer that was recycled for parts.Or they can order one for you.Case in point being i just removed one that died from one of my laptops and put it in one i rarely use and put that in the one needing a working cd/dvd drive.
     
  9. onecherokee

    onecherokee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    No it is not on lap top,it is on a desk top and it is a Acer Aspire with a Blu-Ray DvD Player. It is not detachable.
     
  10. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    does it read BluRay discs?
     
  11. onecherokee

    onecherokee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    no,nor does it read cds
     
  12. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    If this is the coputer in your specs an ACER 3200 I can't find anything on the ACER site that matches that model number. But the Optical Drive should be removable. It might be more difficult if this is an All-in-One system
     
  13. onecherokee

    onecherokee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    It is an Acer Aspire 3200 and I would not know how to go about detaching the Dvd Player
     
  14. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    If you take it to a computer repair place they will be able to see if the drive has indeed failed and will be able to remove it and replace it with a working one for you.Or order one for you for that model.
     
  15. onecherokee

    onecherokee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Ok, I don't think that is the case. It did that before when I upgraded to windows Ultimate
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065013