cd burning question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

erikacaine

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
84
I'm using the ez cd creator and it will burn up to the 5th track and then an error will pop up so i'm thinking about using another utility but I was wondering if there is anyway I can erase the cd or burn over whats there, or is it just a wasted cd
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2001
Messages
101
If it's a CD-R, it's now a coaster. The only ones you have a chance of redoing are the CD-RW's,
which are optimally used for storing data, not music files. I own a few coasters myself, so I sympathize with ya. :)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Not necessarily. Depends on how much data was written to the CD before it quit. You can sometimes open another session and write more data to it.
 

erikacaine

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
84
Well thanks guys it is a cd-r, by the way how do I open another session just go through the motions as if it were a blank?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
You can try doing it that way but it usually doesn’t work. Normally when you write in multi-session the lead in for the next session is written when the previous session is closed.

It wouldn’t hurt to try to recover some of your blank CD that way, but you normally don’t record audio multi-session as most players will read only the first session.

Get the latest update for your EZCD and latest firmware for your burner. EZCD: http://www.roxio.com/en/support/ecdc/ecdcupdates.jhtml One or the other often fixes the kind of problem you are having.

If you are trying to record directly from the CD-ROM you might have to record at slower speeds as the digital audio extraction rates for most CD-ROMs won’t keep up with most modern burners. Different software would not help.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2000
Messages
339
I have had similar problems, so now I always do just test first, then if it goes ok, then I will do burn only. It sure has saved me a lot of cd's. Also < I believe a lot of it was according to the type of music, if I was doing rock tapes, it seemed to error a lot when it came to some songs, So again I started just running a test to burn, then if it wnt ok, then I just burned afterwards, now no more partial cds written.
 

JHR

Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
7
I ended up making my burner as the master on the secondary IdE and messing with the DMA settings on the drive and HDD I believe you need to turn them off (check you trouble shooting chart). The problem usually was with a "writing buffer error" were the HDD and burner got out of sych. I finally took it back to COSTCO and got the newer version with "burn proof" havent had a problem yet and it burns to the max speed usually.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top