1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD drive not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by reganator88, Feb 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reganator88

    reganator88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Alright here's the deal. I recently bought a new cd drive. When I went to install it it didn't work so I took it back. The the next time I started my computer up the drive didn't work and when I opened up My Computer it wasn't even in there. I tried to reinstall my drive but it didn't have its brand and I didn't have a disk. The drive wont open so I cant reboot my computer. Maybe you can help. The drive brand is Samsung.
     
  2. BTS '76

    BTS '76

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    Huh? You bought a cd drive it didn't work, so you took it back and exchanged it for another? Or did you replace the old one.

    Sounds like the jumpers aren't set correctly. What did you set them to?
     
  3. kknla

    kknla

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    257
    Is it an external or internal drive?
    If it is internal, you need to make sure the jumpers are set correctly.

    If it is internal, did you set it on the same IDE cable as the hard drive, or maybe another cd rom drive? Is it on its own IDE cable?


    Looks like you were a lil bit faster then me ;)
     
  4. reganator88

    reganator88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    I was trying to use the original drive that my computer came with. But for some reason it wasn't there.
     
  5. reganator88

    reganator88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    My drive was internal and had everything connected right but it seemed as though it had no power or something.
     
  6. BTS '76

    BTS '76

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    make sure all your connections are correct and secure, you should have three connections.

    Power

    IDE cable

    sound
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117461

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice