1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cd player please help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dred, Jan 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dred

    dred Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    i have no idea why but my computer decided to stop recognizing my cd-rom drive. i am using windows XP. i tried to use a start up disk i had and it wouldnt recognize it either. it definatly works because i put the disk in and it spins around inside the player just dosent reconize it. can someone please tell me what to do
     
  2. monted

    monted

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    860
    is auto-play enabled?
    can you open or play the disk by going to >>>>C:/"cd drive"/right-click your cd drive & choose "open" or "play">?
     
  3. dred

    dred Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    i have my hard drives c: and d: I use my burner as a player it was assigned drive e: The drive has dissapeared. if i could right click it i would. even at start up for my IDE it only recognizes the hard drives. i tried to use a start up disk and that cd rom file i forgot what it was called that oakroot something or other was corrupted. i been looking how to make a start up disk in XP and cant find it anywhere in here. I have never seen anyting like this before.
     
  4. monted

    monted

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    860
    is it listed in device manager? If it is you could right-click on it & choose uninstall, then reboot & Maybe it will install itself.
    there is no " startup disk"

    To create an MS-DOS startup disk
    The MS-DOS startup disk you create will allow you to boot into MS-DOS.

    Insert a floppy disk into your computer's floppy drive.
    Open My Computer, and then click the floppy disk drive to select it.
    On the File menu, point to the name of the floppy drive, and then click Format.
    Under Format options, click Create an MS-DOS startup disk.
    Click Start.
    Important

    Creating an MS-DOS startup disk erases all information on the floppy disk.
    Notes

    To open My Computer, click Start, and then click My Computer.
    The MS-DOS startup disk only allows the system to boot into an MS-DOS prompt. The disk contains no additional tools.
    Related Topics
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to start by right clicking on My Computer, selecting Hardware, and Device Manager. See if there are any errors associated with the CD-RW drive, if so, what are they?
     
  6. dred

    dred Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    its not even listed in device manager already checked there. even when you boot up and it shows your master and slave IDE its not listed. i am getting so mad i think i am going to just go out and get a new burner. try and install that and see what happens.
     
  7. monted

    monted

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    860
    how about trying the "add new hardware wizard"?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If the BIOS doesn't see it, you have a hardware issue, either cabling or a dead drive or IDE channel. Did you check the security of the cables to the drive and MB?
     
  9. dred

    dred Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    thats what i was thinking. I did pop in some more memory last week but it worked after that. i must have made the ribbon cable lose or something. i will try them and if that isnt it then its new burner time. Thanks you guys for your help. this is a great site.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112877

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice