1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cd-r/cd-w conflict

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by forty2uk0, Dec 27, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. forty2uk0

    forty2uk0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    can you please help, i try to copy audio cd from cd-r to cd-w and get this message 'destination and source are the same' and it will not copy, can anyone help please?
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi forty2uk0, welcome to TSG....

    Do you have 2 separate units (one cdr and one cdrw) or are you trying to copy a CDR disk onto a CDRW disk?
     
  3. forty2uk0

    forty2uk0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    hello,
    Thanks for the reply, yes i have 2 seperate units
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Then you aren't choosing the cdrw as the destination drive......
     
  5. forty2uk0

    forty2uk0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    sorry if i sound stupid but i think they are both connected together any idea how to sperate them? I can copy of the net ie morpheus.com
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    What program are you using to copy with?
     
  7. forty2uk0

    forty2uk0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    i am using nero 5, that is when i found out about the problem, it will copy all, except when i put a music cd in the cd-r to make a copy, it says something about having seperate bus connections
     
  8. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    sounds like both your devices are on the same ide connection and your trying to do a on the fly burn, nero won't let you, you have to uncheck the on the fly option
     
  9. forty2uk0

    forty2uk0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Merry Christmas and a happy New Year
     
  10. tosim33

    tosim33

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    You might try copying first to your hard drive, and from there to your disk. Also, checkout that your slave/master switching set correctly.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63075

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice