1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD-R error message

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by lorrie2, Jan 27, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    To make a short story long, my husband installed some scanner software that wasn't compatible with Windows 2000, and my whole system stopped working. It scrolled from an error message about an Inconsistancy in a file or disk or something like that (sorry I can't be more specific) and then after it went through this, it went to a physical memory dumping. Then it started over, and over, and over. We are far from computer experts, but we also didn't want to pay the $60 the local computer guy was asking to fix it. We tried many things, but in the end we ended up copying files in Safe Mode, reinstalling Windows 2000, then reinstalling all software. Since this happened, we are having 2 problems (so far, there could be many more)..... #1 I have burned a data CD successfully, and was able to retrieve the data, I have been able to access a music CD burned pre-crash, and I we have been able to access many other CDs. BUT, I just tried to access 2 CD-Rs with about 100 photos burned on them, and I get an error message that the disk needs to be formatted. If I say "yes" it says that it cannot be formatted. Is this data lost forever? #2 My husband has a computer game and he said that everything is moving in slow motion.... is this something with video driver? I don't know anything about such things.... I need major help. Is there more stuff messed up in my system that I don't know about??
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Hiya and welcome

    What are you using to view the CD's? As in the type of program. maybe Nero or something like that.

    Have you tried the Cd's in another PC to see if the files are still there?

    For the second question, what is the name of the game you are trying to play? Also, what is your video card?

    Control Panel | System. Hardware | Device Manager. Under Display will be the name of your video card. Also, is there a yellow !

    Also, what version of DirectX have you got? Go to Run and type DXDIAG. In the first tab will be the version number. Whilst you're there, go to Display and look at the features. Are all Enabled? You can try out the tests alongside each as well.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Eddie, thanks for answering.

    I originally was trying to access the CD-Rs with Adobe Photodeluxe 1.0, but I also tried just from Explore - both gave me the same Disk needs to be formatted message.

    The game he was trying to play was a football game, Madden 2000. The game worked prior to all our recent problems. I hope I located the correct information for video driver: S3 Inc Savage/IX Display Driver. Sorry if I didn't get that right. I have DirectX 7.0 - I ran the tests and they were successful. All features were enabled.

    Hope this helps - thanks again for trying to help me! I suppose you could tell me that there was an easier solution than to reinstall everything.... maybe I don't want to know....
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Okay

    For the game, its gonna take me a few mins to track the video card down, as S3 is only the chip, not the card. was there any numbers?

    Now, you have DirectX 7 on Win2000. I'm on 2000 as well, and running 8.0. I'll upgrade next week.

    Go here and download that version or version 8.1 which is the latest version:

    http://www.microsoft.com/directx/homeuser/downloads/default.asp

    eddie
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Okay, may have found it

    http://www.s3graphics.com/prod_savage_ix_features.htm

    I wanted to know if it was a 3D card. It is. What version of driver have you got?

    Go back to the Device Manager, and when you're in the Display, rightclick on your card and choose Properties. Look under Driver for the version number.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Driver version is 5.12.1.7024

    Lorrie
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Okay

    There are upgrades, but lets see if DirectX newer version works. btw, in the Driver description, did it say SavageIX? Also, which of these:

    RevJC/HB
    JC_AGP

    eddie
     
  8. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Not sure if I'm looking in the correct place.... do I look in the same place as I looked to get the Driver Version? If so, it does say Savage IX, but neither of the other two.
     
  9. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Thats the same place.

    hmmmm...

    Can you do me a quick favour? Open up the PC case and look inside. Is there a graphics card in your AGP slot? That will be the small one.

    Er, this is a piccy of a MB, and the AGP is the black one above the 5 white slots.

    <IMG SRC="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=329159">

    regards

    eddie
     

    Attached Files:

  10. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    uuuuuhhhhhhhhh..... I have a laptop. Micronpc TransPort GX+ don't think I should take it apart....
     
  11. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Ah, nope, you'd better not

    Okay, then it probably won't be AGP.

    Do you want to try the DirectX first? It may work without these newer drivers.

    btw, this is the site with the drivers:

    https://ranger.s3graphics.com/290-298drv/

    Now, under Win2000 are two types.

    Logo'd: SavageIX Windows2000 version 7.40.44 RevJC/HB
    Logo'd: SavageIX Windows2000 version 7.40.44 JC_AGP

    I'm assuming that the first one will be your's, but I could be wrong.

    Off for some brekky for a bit. Its 8:30am here

    btw, now I know the PC, I'll fully confirm the drivers. Back soon

    eddie
     
  12. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    oops.... got booted off when I ran the new DirectX 8.1 - then I tried the game and I'm getting a new message....

    Madden 2000 supports 3Drx Glide 3.X and higher. Voodoo users must have this updated version of Glide installed on their system. To install updated Glide runtime driver kit, goto the 3Dfx folder on the CD and run one of the self extracting exe's

    But when I go to the folder I get 6 Applications.... are those the exe's? I ran the first one and that didn't work. I'll try the others...
     
  13. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Okay, check out the folder and see whats there.

    eddie
     
  14. lorrie2

    lorrie2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Not that I know how to play the silly game... but I pushed a bunch of stuff until the football players started running. It seems fine now, I didn't notice any slow motion. I think it's OK.

    Thanks for the help.... if you have any suggestions about my CD-Rs that won't work, let me know when you have a chance. I'm going to sleep - I haven't stayed up this late for ages. I'll check this page tomorrow. I know I used one of the CDs on my mom's computer and it worked fine.

    Thanks again for your time and expertise! I really appreciate it! Now I just have to keep my husband from installing bad stuff!
     
  15. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66594

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice