1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD-ROM and DVD-ROM not working?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gmcsierra99, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i thought i had a bad DVD-ROM, soo i tossed it in the trash :( lol, wasnt the case, i put another CD-ROM, and DVD-ROM, seperate drives, and still dont work? even tryed a different IDE cord. the power on, but when you put a CD/DVD in, nothing happens, the drives arent gettting recognized, any ideas?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Do the drives appear in My Computer? If not, do they have an error code in Device Manager? If you answered "no" to the first question and "yes" to the second one, try this:

    Fix for missing DVD/CD drives.

    Create a text file with NOTEPAD containing the following data exactly as below and name it FIXCD.REG

    Double click on the file and say yes to the merge into registry question.

    ----------------------- Use text after this line, contents of FIXCD.REG -----------------------------
    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]
    "UpperFilters"=-
    "LowerFilters"=-

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdr4_2K]

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdralw2k]

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdudf]

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\UdfReadr]
    ------------------------------ Use text before this line --------------------------------
     
  3. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Make sure jumpers are set so that there is a master and a slave on each cable...that is most common reason for not seeing them in My Computer.
     
  4. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    JohnWill: the drives arent in My Computer, and theres nothing in Device Manager, except the old drive? just like in My Computer?

    Rich-M: they are on the right settings.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, if they don't appear in Device Manager, check during the boot and see if they're recognized during the BIOS POST. If not, you have a hardware connection issue. The thing to try is to connect one drive at a time and see if it's recognized. One bad drive can cause both to disappear.
     
  6. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    nevermind, i got it, i had 2 screw around with the BIOS, nw i just have 2 find out why it's not recognizing a Slave lol, thanks guys.
     
  7. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Glad to hear it.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482513

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice