CD-ROM and DVD-ROM not working?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
i thought i had a bad DVD-ROM, soo i tossed it in the trash :( lol, wasnt the case, i put another CD-ROM, and DVD-ROM, seperate drives, and still dont work? even tryed a different IDE cord. the power on, but when you put a CD/DVD in, nothing happens, the drives arent gettting recognized, any ideas?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Do the drives appear in My Computer? If not, do they have an error code in Device Manager? If you answered "no" to the first question and "yes" to the second one, try this:

Fix for missing DVD/CD drives.

Create a text file with NOTEPAD containing the following data exactly as below and name it FIXCD.REG

Double click on the file and say yes to the merge into registry question.

----------------------- Use text after this line, contents of FIXCD.REG -----------------------------
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]
"UpperFilters"=-
"LowerFilters"=-

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdr4_2K]

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdralw2k]

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdudf]

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\UdfReadr]
------------------------------ Use text before this line --------------------------------
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Make sure jumpers are set so that there is a master and a slave on each cable...that is most common reason for not seeing them in My Computer.
 

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
JohnWill: the drives arent in My Computer, and theres nothing in Device Manager, except the old drive? just like in My Computer?

Rich-M: they are on the right settings.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, if they don't appear in Device Manager, check during the boot and see if they're recognized during the BIOS POST. If not, you have a hardware connection issue. The thing to try is to connect one drive at a time and see if it's recognized. One bad drive can cause both to disappear.
 

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
nevermind, i got it, i had 2 screw around with the BIOS, nw i just have 2 find out why it's not recognizing a Slave lol, thanks guys.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top