1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD-ROM & external CD-RW drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pjerimiahb, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pjerimiahb

    pjerimiahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    The CD-Rom will recognise CD programs but will not recognise any (even quality brands)Blank disks ! ....? Have external CD-RW drive which works most of the time. Disconnected external drive completely and Internal CD Drive would still not recognise Blank Disks. .........Pjerimiahb
     
  2. johnpost

    johnpost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    what operating system and what program is involved?

    how do you mean recognize?

    does the drive say no disk inserted when you try to burn to it?

    a burning program will show if blank media is inserted
    a cdr disc. does it show that?

    if it is cdrw then it behaves differently depending on
    your operating system and media involved. some rw
    media is preformatted and usable in your file manager
    immediately. if that is not the case then you need to
    format the rw media with the cdrw program to use
    it like a giant floppy.

    using cdrw media is different then cdr media. the program
    to use cdrw media may be totally separate from the program to
    use cdr media.
     
  3. pjerimiahb

    pjerimiahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    My operating system is Windows XP. The external RW drive is a Iomega HOTBURN Pro predator for burning disks. . I also use a ONES (Optical new edge storage ) program for copying disks and dragging and copying files to CDs. Any time I put a blank R (or RW)disk in the CD Rom i get an error message saying please enter a message "Please put a blank disk in drive", when I open the blank disc I get the same message.....pjerimiahb
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Download the Nero Info Tool from Nero Tools Download, run it and post a screen shot of the Drive tab here. Put a blank CD in the drive for the test. Here's a sample of what it should look like.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pjerimiahb

    pjerimiahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Followed your instuctions and have the info on my screen but don't know how to add it to the thread to send with this thread ........apologies from an intermediate 79 year old novice...pjerimiab
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  7. pjerimiahb

    pjerimiahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    sorry for the delay, here it is

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That appears to be a plain CD-ROM drive, perhaps that's why it doesn't recognize CD-R/RW blank disks. :) Why are you putting blank media in a drive that can't write to them?
     
  9. pjerimiahb

    pjerimiahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    John; Thanks for bearing with me. With your help and the help of the computer guy from my son' business I have a different understanding of the Drives. He is going to install an internal CD-RW/DVD drive to replace my CD-Rom which will complement my external DD-RW drive. Once again thanks for tolerating me and wasting your time... pjerimiahb
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    No problem, we live to waste our time. :D
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    You can also typically look in the device manager to see if the drive is a CDR or not.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    However Nero Info Tool actually tells you exactly what you have.
     
  13. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Yes, absolutely. That is a good tool as well.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538782

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice