1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD ROM not Reading Data CD's

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rocky1, Jan 24, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rocky1

    Rocky1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    I have a CD ROM and a CD Burner.....I am able burn music CD's and all other disks except data.....When I burn a data CD and place it into my CD ROM Drive, it will not read it...I can place that same CD back into my burner and it will read...but now when I burn a music CD, I can place it into my CD ROM and it will read it....what gives.....thanx
     
  2. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    Rocky1---I'm going to take a shot here, but first I need a little more info. How old is the CD-ROM drive? Did you add the CD-Burner later after you purchased the computer? Do you have access to someone else's CD-ROM drive?
     
  3. Rocky1

    Rocky1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Yes I have added the CD Burner....the hardware is connected as follows....one IDE cable from Mobo to harddrive with the CD ROM in between....another IDE cable from the Mobo to the ZIP Drive and then on to the CD Burner.....another IDE cable from the Mobo to the floppy...

    I have just about got all the others taken care except for the Floppy and the CD ROM....I can't do anything with the floppy....when I right click on it, the hour glass comes up and rotates for several minutes, then nothing.......I can't get get my CD ROM/DVD to run any burned disks (data or music)...But it will run other disks

    Not sure how these should be set up (Master or Slave)..
     
  4. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    Rocky1----Take one of the Data CD's and try it in another computer. If the second computer reads the CD then you might have a bad CD-ROM drive.

    As far as master/slave there is a difference of opinion. I would have the harddrive set as master and the CD-ROM as slave. On the second IDE ribbon set the CD-Burner as master and the Zip as slave. If your not sure how to do this let us know.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi Rocky1, in your first post you refer to the cd rom as a cd rom....then you later say cd rom/dvd.....which is it?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Reading Data CD's
  1. Mrnotknowhow
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    182
  2. Kalys
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    264
  3. lousycomputerguy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    149
  4. bxcfilm
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    165
  5. GallowBlack
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    425
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66260

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice