1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD Rom "not ready" problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by xico, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Im running a 95 IBM Aptiva. Sometimes the CD functions okay, sometimes it doesn't. I click on RUN, type in D:\ and click ok, but I get the message: Device not ready.

    At other times it works okay. Must be a setting. Any help would be appreciated.

    :D Xico
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Boot into Safe Mode - (tap F8 twice per second during a restart; Choose option number three (3) in the Windows Startup dialog box using the arrow keys below the Delete key, and strike the Enter key; Click Ok when prompted);

    Right click My Computer; Point to Properties; Click the Device Manager tab; Click the plus sign beside CDROM; Highlight each device inside CDROM, each in turn, and click the Add/Remove button until no main CDROM entry is present.

    Repeat with each device below that, Display Adapters etc. (see exceptions below), removing all duplicate entries inside a main heading. If duplicates are present, remove all those Duplicate Entries Only, inside a main heading.

    Do Not bother Hard Disk Controllers, System Devices, and USB controllers.

    Restart via the Start button and Windows will redetect, refresh and only replace those devices needed. There is no use for 2 keyboards, CDROM etc. as those duplicates cause some of the errors you describe.
     
  3. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Thank you, Styxx. That info is much appreciated.

    Xico:D
     
  4. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    right-eo! *waves* Hope it helps. That tutorial is a test for a bad/ going-bad CD-ROM.
     
  5. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Aha! It's probably going bad then. I wondered about that. Good thing my son picked up a box of computer parts a neighbor threw out. I think she wanted to see what made it tick. I guess I'll put in that spare CDRom and see if it works. Thanks Styxx. :D



    Xico:D
     
  6. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Well, I went to check out the Network (I don't have), and after I changed a setting, the message came up to insert the 95 disk to pick up the drivers. I put the disk in, and it loaded right up and unloaded the drivers from the CD. Hmmmm. Well, I went back to RUN, but I got the same message, "Device not ready." So, I went back to Device Drivers, highlighted CD Rom, and clicked on properties. One of the boxes has a check in it for "disconnect". Is that supposed to be checked? It wouldn't seem so, would it?
     
  7. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Well I don't know what you mean by "device drivers" though. Do you mean in Device Manager? Double-clicking the CD-ROM entry inside CD-ROM then Point to Properties and click the Drivers tab? The boxes should be ticked to reflect - exists in this hardware profile and Disable should not be checked.

    That's correct Disconnect should not be checked.
     
  8. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    pays to look around, don't it.
     
  9. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Yes, Device Manager. OKay, I unchecked Disconnect (under options), but there is another checkex box called "Auto insert notification." Should that be checked?
     
  10. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Auto insert notification should be ticked, or selected in other words.
     
  11. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Restart your computer when you've got it configured the way you want, to ensure the changes can take effect.
     
  12. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Okay.
     
  13. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    OKay, I replaced the CD Rom, but I'm getting the dame message: Device not ready.

    It's got to be the setting somewhere, cos sometimes it will work--tho, since yesterday it hasn't. Anymore suggestions?
     
  14. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    That's supposed to be "getting the same message", not "damn message".
     
  15. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    other than ensuring the new drive is jumpered correctly, Master or Slave, and the plugs are seated correctly, no more suggestions.

    Good luck
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172462

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice