1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD ROM not showing up ANYWHERE

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Silvertip Seas, Feb 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Silvertip Seas

    Silvertip Seas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    I disconnected my cd-rom and after reconnecting, it is not in device manager, my computer or even the BIOS! D845GLLY Intel motherboard, XP Home, P4 processor. Thanks guys!
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Do you mean that you physically disconnected and reconnected it? If yes did you hook it up exactly the same way? Any changes at all?
     
  3. Silvertip Seas

    Silvertip Seas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Yes physically disconnected, I have even put a new IDE cable that I had in place of the other one. I have my TDK CDROM hooked up as master and the jumper is in the master spot, but when i restart and get into bios it does not show in boot device priority at all. The floppy drive is the ONLY thing that is showing. Do I need to update my bios? did the bios reset somehow and is not recognizing the cdrom?? Can't figure it out...

    Thx.
     
  4. VinceIP

    VinceIP

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Maybe it's something with that new IDE cable? Try putting the other one back in and see what happens.

    There's nothing I know of that could make this happen... unless, in the worst case scenario, your drive may have been fried when you were touching it. Static electricity is the killer of most PC hardware. Before I play with my hardware, I always go find something metal to touch, which discharges all built-up static electricity in my body, so then my stuff can't be fried.
     
  5. Silvertip Seas

    Silvertip Seas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    yea, that's not the problem, i don't think. I'm going to try to update my MOB drivers, then maybe it will see the CD ROM
     
  6. d-mod3

    d-mod3

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    why did you disconnect the drive the first time ? Was there a problem with the drive ? Did you change the jumper settings?
     
  7. Carey934

    Carey934

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Sounds like the power cable is not installed properly or the IDE connector is not fully seated on either end. I have seen some people plug the small four pin floppy connector onto the audio out connectors of the CDROM. This will not work. Unplug all cables from the CDROM and reconnect them using your hard drive as an example of the way the cables should be plugged in. Pay particular attention to the red line running down one side of the IDE cable and ensure it faces the power connector on the back of the CDROM.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543619

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice