1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cd rom problem HELP

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hondajj, Feb 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hondajj

hondajj Thread Starter

Hey there Gurus im new to this sight and have added it to my Favorites very nice sight ; My problem is I think I have lost my Cd roms driver and have tried every thing to get it back when using my startup disk i get the followin. ( Device driver not found MSCDoo1) no valid CDROM device drivers selected. Im running windows 98se and just need some insight as to what I should try next I have tried to down load the drivers but can not seem to get it to load. I even downlaoded a new windows boot disc but that didnt work ether hehe just when i thought i was getting good at this stuff im humbled to it :) If there is any help i could get i would really appreciate it Thanks Ahead of time .

JJ

2. slipe

slipe

Welcome to TSG.

Your CD-ROM drive doesn’t need drivers to run in Windows unless it is a very old 2X or 4X drive.

Your problem seems to be that the generic DOS drivers on the startup disk aren’t working. Confirm you selected the choice to start with CD-ROM support – that usually loads the drivers.

Start>Settings>Control Panel>Add/Remove Programs. Go to the startup disk tab and make your own start disk. Format it first if you aren’t sure it is new and formatted – right click on your A drive and select format.

3. hondajj

hondajj Thread Starter

Slipe thanks so much But it is 24 cd drive but still im going to try right now making a new start up disk and try that Thanks again Slipe :)

4. hondajj

hondajj Thread Starter