cd rom problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ckch03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
5
i am just about at the end of my rope with my comp. my os is win 7 32bit home premium. my problem started a few days ago and I really don't know why. I am baffled. autoplay in win 7 will not work with my cd-rw/dvd rom which is a Toshiba sd-r2312. I have been burning cd's and until 3 days ago when I try to put a cd in my rom I cannot view any contents of any cd whether it was made or store bought. when I put in a memory stick I get autoplay no problem but when I put a cd in my rom it goes straight to playing in wmp. try to open a cd to look inside of it nothing all the info I get is track 1 and aside from the number I get 1kb. that's it. now heres what I have tried so far.(DRIVERS AND CD ROM CHECK OUT OK ALL UPDATED DRIVERS)


I thought maybe reinstall windows cuz something messed up somewhere. ok did that still same problem. tried a different cd-rw/dvd rom. still same problem. autoplay will not work. went so far as to dump windows 7 and put windows xp pro on my machine. guess what still even in xp autoplay will not work and cannot view cd's contents. so put win 7 back on my machine all updated to the last update and driver still put a cd in and it goes straight to play and no autoplay option. check registry entries and no foul play there either all is good. I really don't know what to do anymore I cannot stand windows anymore I wish there was another company with better os. to me I would imagine this has got to be a windows OS problem because its not a cd rom device problem. so if anyone can help please let me know.


oh by the way yes I have enough memory also a new hard drive so that is not my problem I think


thankyou, ckch03
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
1,323
Well it does not sound like an OS issue, since you have reinstalled from scratch twice. And since you have tried a different cd-dvd rom (known to be good I assume). Maybe you have a bad data cable? Also if you have a chance you may want to try a USB external cd-dvd rom, that would settle it.
 

ckch03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
5
ok cleaver that sounds bad. is there any way to fix the cable. I have no idea what it is. also I tried usb cd rom and same thing cannot read cd's contents. I can still burn and play but I cannot copy any songs or data from other cd's as I got no information about whats on the disk
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
5
Just a couple of suggestions.
There are millions of fake DVDs on sale in the world - take a few to an IT shop to see
if they are useable there.
Ditto with the DVD drive - it may have become defective - it happens ...
And/or take the PC/Laptop, whatever, to the shop for a cable and general checkup.
good luck
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Depending on the data cable connected to the CD-Rw/DVD Rom IDE or Sata Either should be available for just a few dollars from a computer shop or even maybe Best Buy.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,059
That Toshiba optical drive is a laptop type so I assume you have a laptop. If so what make and model is it ?
 

ckch03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
5
yes the drive is on my laptop and the model of the laptop is nec versa but the thing is I have tried other drives on my laptop same results there is no folder option in autoplay also no disk info or contents. example I put music cd from store bought all I get is track 1 and to the right of that it says 1kb that's it all it says. should give more details than that when you put a cd in. tried Toshiba in another laptop works perfect
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
1,323
OK let's get back to basics. When you look at the CD contents using Windows Explorer do you see all the music files?
 

ckch03

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
5
hey cleaver answer to your question is no there is no music files. just when I put cd in rom open it all there is track1--------------------------------------------1kb that's what it looks like hope that helps
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top