1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CD works, DVD does not and floppy drives gone?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by adfuller, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adfuller

adfuller Thread Starter

Hello to anyone who can help me.
    I work in IT so normally do the 'support' for my family but this one has me stumped.
    The description is a bit indepth but I'm not sure where to go from here apart from a full reinstall which I don't want to do as apart from the problems described, everything works fine
    Okay, I have an unmodified Acer Travelmate 2501LC with XP and Nero 6. It has a DVD/CD-RW combo drive and a floppy drive.

Basically the drive will read CDs most of the time, although sometimes it will cause the computer to crash.
    However it will not read DVDs, and won't recognise any DVD discs I try. The drive just spins and clicks but not as it normally should. It will also start to burn some CDRs but not complete writing.
    Also the the floppy drive on the computer is missing from the "My Computer" folder.

It started with some problems starting from the Hard Drive cause by a bad partition but I fixed that.

In the device manager there is an exclamation mark and the following error listed "Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)"

There is also a "Standard Floppy Disk Controller" in the device manager which is "Working properly". It appeared about the same time the problem started. I tried uninstalling this driver which leads to an immediate Blue screen of Death! It resets before I can read anything. I've tried to start the PC in Safe mode but it seems to reboot at some point in the start up, (loading the drivers I think) so I can only get it in normal mode