1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CDR recognition

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Haukino, Jan 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Haukino

Haukino Thread Starter

I have been burning CDRs on computer for two years (using Easy CD Creator 4.02). A week ago my computer decided to stop recognising ALL my CDRs, prompted by "no CD in drive" (this includes a few CDs that were not burnt by me). I have tried uninstalling Easy CD Creator then reinstalling it. Then even went to the extreme of reformatting my hard drive. Still no luck!

But the drive WILL accept commercial/mass produced CDs.

I have not installed any new programs recently to cause a conflict, the only thing I can think of is the updates from PC Cillin (anti-virus software).

Can anyone help me ... pleeeeeeeaaaaaassssseeeeee!

Am running Windows ME ... if that helps, at all.

2. AbvAvgUser

AbvAvgUser

Have you tried to clean the lens of the CD drive? At times, some dust on laser lense gives some funny uncomprehensible errors.

3. slipe

slipe

Welcome to TSG.

I am presuming you did not format any of those CDs before recording. If you did not format the CDs then the software has nothing to do with reading the CD. It should read fine in any drive regardless of whether any burning software is installed.