1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CDROM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Loner, Jan 28, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Loner

    Loner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    6
    When I connect the CDROM cable the monitor goes blank. If I connect the cable and then try to boot the computer doesn't do anything?
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Okay, lets get this straight, You install the cdrom cable into the ide port on the motherboard taking care to keep the red strip lined up with pin 1 on motherboard and cdrom. Plug power into cdrom, reboot, enter bios, set ide for cdrom, reboot and the monitor goes blank. ???
     
  3. Loner

    Loner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    6
    First, yes the #1 pins are identified very clearly on both the MB and the CDROM (CR-563-B), and the red stripe is at #1. If I connect the ribbon and then try to boot, I get nothing. If I boot without the ribbon connected to the CDROM, go in and set up the BIOS, then as soon as I start to connect the ribbon to the CDROM, the monitor goes blank. I have tried different cables with the same results. CDROM is getting power as the LED works and the drawer will open and close.
     
  4. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Is it alone on an ide bus or with something, in that case are the jumpers set correctly, one device master, the other slave.
     
  5. Loner

    Loner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    6
    I've tried it both ways, and I think the jumpers on the CDROM (CR-563-B) may be the problem. I don't have any of the paper work with this thing and can't find any place on the net that shows what the jumper settings should be.
     
  6. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Its a panasonic drive sold by creative
    The CR563 is a double speed, multi-session CD-ROM drive from
    Matsu****a-Kotobuki Electronics (MKE, aka Panasonic). This drive comes
    with a Creative/MKE interface.

    Model CR563

    Physical Appearance

    5.25" Half-height size

    Creative/MKE interface

    Motorized tray loading mechanism

    Horizontal mounting (support 120mm & 80mm discs)

    Stereo Headphone jack

    Volume Control knob (Thumb Wheel)

    Manual Eject/Stop Button

    Busy LED indicator


    Other Information

    Data capacity
    Mode 1 - 680 Mbytes
    Mode 2 - Not available

    1/3 stroke (typical) access time - 320 ms

    Buffer Memory - 64 Kbytes

    Line-Out - 0.8 Vrms @ 50 K ohms

    Headphone - 0.6 Vrms @ 32 ohms

    Serial number is located on the top of the drive

    I couldn't log on to their web site, you might want to try later. Creative doesn't seem to have a tech sheet for it.

    Sorry, The wife insists I watch a movie with her and get off this box. Good luck.
     
  7. Loner

    Loner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    6
    Must keep wives happy, I do most of my surfin early, early am and when she is at work. Just fooling around with the CMOS and still no luck. I wasn't able to get on the site either. The other day I found a sketch of the CDROM, but it was in german. Explain that if these things are made in Japan. Also wondering if some MB jumper needs to be changed, but don't have any paper work on it either. Has a SiS 486/489 chipset. Any more ideas??? How was the movie??? Thanks in advance for your time with this problem.
     
  8. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Sucess, you've got mail

    Instruction manual in pdf format, acrobat reader needed.
     
  9. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Don't know if that manual got you fixed up, but two points here.

    1) It sounded a lot like you said you were plugging a cable in while power was on. That is not a good idea at all - only plug / unplug things while power is off.

    2) This drive will NOT work when plugged into your IDE controller. It requires a special controller - if you don't have one, you can't use the drive.
     
  10. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Mister Core, please explain, What is special about this drive. I'd appreciate it, an inquiring mind.
     
  11. Loner

    Loner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    6
    Just sent you e-mail, I have the board connected, and it no longer stops the computer from running, but now I can't get the Award Bios to recognize it. Any ideas?

    Brian, I am also going to send you a copy of the detailed message I sent LarryCore. Am going to Florida to visit my 92 year old Dad for a week, so if I don't respond for a while don't give up on me.
     
  12. Loner

    Loner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    6



    >
    > > You (LarryCore, administrator) were kind enough to reply to my post
    > > on
    > > the Tech Support Guy BB. I am the one having trouble getting my
    > > CD-ROM
    > > up and running. I inherited this "bag of worms" from my son, and
    > > made
    > > the biggest mistake when I tried to upgrade it: DIDN'T MAKE A NOTE
    > > OF
    > > WHAT WAS CONNECTED TO WHAT. I found the board that you mentioned,
    > > inserted it and plugged the cable to it, and now the CD-ROM no
    > > longer
    > > stops the computer from running. Now I can't get the doggone thing
    > > to
    > > be recognized. There is one jumper on the board I installed, but I
    > > have
    > > no idea if it should be closed or open. I've tried both ways but no
    > > luck. I have also tried all the jumper settings on the CD-ROM, and
    > > still nothing. I downloaded a generic CD-ROM driver which put all
    > > the
    > > good stuff in my autoexec and config files, but when the system
    > > boots it
    > > can't id the CD-ROM.
    > >
    > > The CD-ROM was running on my son's computer which was only a 66MHZ
    > > and
    > > only had 8MB RAM. When he removed the two SIMM chips, he broke one
    > > of
    > > the mounts, so I can't try to get everything going on that MB now,
    > > since
    > > it must require two SIMMS, and it doesn't have any RAM built into
    > > the
    > > board.
    > >
    > > I am setting this thing up on a 133MHZ which I also don't have any
    > > manual for. Here are the BIOS specs I get when I boot up the
    > > computer.
    > >
    > > Award Modular BIOS v4.51G Energy Star Ally
    > > 1984-95 Award Software Inc.
    > > 486E 96/7/19 w83787 Plug and Play Bios
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > (and at the bottom of the screen)
    > >
    > > 03/14/96-SiS-496-497/A/B-2A4IB13C-00
    > >
    > > I think I've tried every possible combination of settings in the
    > > CMOS,
    > > and can't get the system to recognize the CD-ROM. I downloaded and
    > > installed a generic CD-ROM file (CDR320.zip), unzipped it to a
    > > floppy
    > > and ran the install program. I got it from the Drivers.com board,
    > > and
    > > it said it was pretty successful in most cases, but not in mind,
    > > except
    > > I think it might work if I could figure out how to get the CPU to
    > > locate
    > > the CD-ROM.
    > >
    > >
    > > If you have any suggestions, I'd sure appreciate them.
    > >
    > > Thanks in advavce
    > > Ray Bomkamp
    > > [email protected]
    > > http://www.c-zone.net/loner
    > > Redding, CA.
     
  13. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Ok - here is the key. You NEED the correct driver for this card. A generic driver will not work.

    This is a proprietary drive / controller combo - something that was common years ago, but no longer is.

    Once you get the right drivers, you install them, and they will put the files needed into the CONFIG and AUTOEXEC to get you up and running.

    There should be no need at all to mess with CMOS, as these controllers almost never used an IRQ - they only use an I/O address. And that one jumper you found most likely controls what the I/O address is. So, once you install the driver, if it tells you it can't find the drive, move the jumper and try again.

    Here is a great site I found that gives more details about this:
    http://www-stu.cai.cam.ac.uk/~atm26/electronics/panapcfaq.html

    There is also a link near the bottom for the drivers.
     
  14. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Thanks for reply, I was wondering why I was coming across all the links for drivers for this device. I should have checked further.
     
  15. JackyAJT

    JackyAJT

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    10

    I have this same cdrom and I have it on the sound card my problem is it only sees 1 instead of 2 any ideas how I can fix this?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/32251

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice