1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Celeron D on an old board

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by InsideLines, Feb 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. InsideLines

    InsideLines Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    I recently bought a 2.8Ghz Celeron D with a 533Mhz bus and 478 pin; settings my motherboard (a P4VXASD2+ by ECS (ecsusa.com) version 1.0, made in 2001) are completely compatible with. However it didn't work so I sent it back thinking it was defective. I now have a second 2.8Ghz Celeron D that won't work either. Is there something I should be doing that I'm not? :confused:

    I'm upgrading from a 1.8Ghz Celeron (which works fine) that I bought at the same time as my motherboard. I contacted ECS before buying the Celeron D to make sure that it was compatible and they replied by saying that the fastest CPU that the P4VXASD2+ can take is a 2.8Ghz Pentium 4.
     
  2. InsideLines

    InsideLines Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    I thought I should add my other system specs on here, just in case:

    GeForce FX 5200 (AGP 4x)
    512 MB SDRAM PC133
    450 power
    On board sound (AC'97)

    I can't think of anything else that might remotely be the problem. Oh, and when I try to turn on my computer with the Celeron D in the drives and fans start up but not the CPU (it doesn't even get hot).
     
  3. Perfesser

    Perfesser

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    237
    You may need a BIOS upgrade to use the 2.8 CPU.
     
  4. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    The ecs bios tends to default to strange values. Put the old cpu back in and boot to the BIOS. Change the settings to those needed by the new one and save. Do not let the machine get too far in the reboot. Turn off all power and change to the new CPU.
     
  5. Arcadion

    Arcadion

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,756
    It would not surprise me if your motherboard is totally incompatible with that CeleronD CPU. We use Albatron PM266 motherboards in our entry-level systems, with 2.66GHz CeleronD CPUs. The original revision of this board was not compatible with them, we had to get a newer version in, no BIOS update would fix it. This fact was confirmed by our supplier.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,889
    First Name:
    Rob
  7. InsideLines

    InsideLines Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks, Triple, that answered my question. ECS has really lousy tech support. I asked them if my board would work with "newer Celeron machines" and they wrote back to me saying that my board would take UP TO a Pentium 4 at 2.8 Ghz.
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,889
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yes, well ECS is a bottom feader for a reason.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/329488

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice