1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cell - Data Validation

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by markh123, Sep 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. markh123

    markh123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Hi,

    I have a couple of questions if you could possibly help me.

    I have a cell where I want an employee to input the approximate (or actual) age of a person. To make this easier, I have created the following list - baby, child, 16-20, 20's 30's, 40+, Unknown. The problem is that sometimes the employee will know the exact age of the person - and I could do with capturing this information. Is there any way, other than elongating the list (adding on 0,1,2,3,4 etc), that the cell can be validated in such a way that you either input an actual age (say 00-100) or choose from the drop down list above?

    The second question is -

    I have 2 questions on an excel spreadsheet: -
    1 - What is the number of clowns in the circus? Answer to be put in cell B3 (minimum 0, maximum 9)
    2 - How many clowns had red noses? Answer to be placed in cell B4 (minimum 0, maximum 9).

    Currently, both cells are validated to produce a drop down menu of 10 options - 0-9. What I want is to ensure the inability to place a higher number in cell B4 than B3. But I want to keep the drop down menu's (using list on validation). Can this be done?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Mark
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    59,982
    First Name:
    Chuck
    It might help us to help you if you told us the exact program you are using.
     
  3. markh123

    markh123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Sorry - it is Microsoft Excel 2000. I didn't realise this info might be needed.

    Thanks

    Mark
     
  4. turbodante

    turbodante

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    744
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/859478

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice