1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cell Phone as Modem for Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by doug8643, Nov 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. doug8643

    doug8643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    With a Cell Phone using PdaNet+s WiFi Hotspot is there any way to set up a Router as a WiFi Repeater for that Hotspot and also set up the Router to use an Automatic Proxy for clients to this port ttp://192.168.49.1:8000"?

    Windows devices can connect independently, using the PdaNet+ Desktopo as can Android. Apple also, but must use the above Automatic Proxy. Smart TV's, Satellite TV controllers and Chromecast can connect, but can't see an internet connection. Thus the need for a Broadband Router to be set up as above.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,817
    Setup your router to disable DHCP and WiFi. Then set the cellphone hotspot to use the same WiFi name as your router's. Try and see.
     
  3. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    I use the following software for my folks computer to do this and although it is not needed, it makes it very easy to setup.

    https://www.connectify.me/
     
  4. doug8643

    doug8643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Have done that several times. Doesn't work. Finally fatally bricked an old dd-wrt router.
     
  5. doug8643

    doug8643 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Router cannot run connectify.me. Computer is only used to set up router, then becomes a WiFi client of the Router. The problem is how to setup the Router to use an this Automatic Proxy "http://192.168.49.1:8000" for its WiFi clients.
     
  6. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    For this setup to work you connect your hotspot to the computer and the software allows you to use the computer as a router. Then you can connect the router via Ethernet to the computer and use the router as an access point.
     
  7. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,271
    Get a Cradlepoint router. It supports connecting to a wireless network as a WAN connection.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1218739

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice