1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

certain games crashing

Discussion in 'Games' started by wdfndn, Jul 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    I have recently built a new pc, evrything is sweet for the majority of time until I play certain games. games that I am having trouble with are: guild wars 2, batman arkam city, dirt 2. the problem arises after a undetermined period in game which gives a black screen and a flickering of sound. there is no way out of this and I am forced to hard restart.

    My system specs are:

    intel i7 2600k 3.4ghz
    8 gig ram
    nvidia 570 gtx

    I have the lastest GPU drivers and even tried the beta ones to no avail.


    Any pointers would be most appreciated thank you.
     
  2. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Hi wdfndn,

    You will have to provide more information on your system. Download Sysinfo, a safe and small program developed to display your system specifications: Here

    Copy and paste the specifications it produces in your next post.

    You will also need to provide the specs for your power supply, typically displayed on the side of the supply itself. We will need the Brand/Model and Wattage details.

    Once we've got these details, hopefully we'll have everything we need to find a solution. :)
     
  3. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Hi Sick_Jargon, thanks for the reply,

    My power supply unit is a CIC model 650U and is rated at 650 watts

    the other info you requested is below:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8097 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570, 1279 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 114243 MB, Free - 22784 MB; D: Total - 595069 MB, Free - 454126 MB; E: Total - 15359 MB, Free - 10057 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    can anyone help with this? I'm still crashing all the time.
     
  5. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Hello again,

    Sorry for the late response I've been a little busy.

    CIC PSU's are generally low quality and are not built for the purpose of gaming, while the label states 650W it's likely it doesn't efficiently produce this power. Your graphics card also depends on a specific power supply rail (12+) and CIC PSU's usually don't generate the sort of amps for demanding hardware.

    Regardless of whether this is the issue or not, I would still suggest buying a PSU from a reputable brand such as Be Quiet! or Antec.

    So on to temperature, download: HWmonitor, here.

    Once open, screenshot the temperatures & voltages while your PC is idle, at desktop.

    Then take another screenshot of the temps alone while the PC is under load, with a game running in the background. (do this about 5 minutes in to gameplay, more accurate temps this way).

    Drop these in your next post.

    Apologies once again for the late reply.
     
  6. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    I will have to get a new PSU in the near future, I'm a bit strapped at the moment but here are the temperature results you asked for.....
     

    Attached Files:

  7. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    I can't find specs on your PSU but that card requires at least 19 amps, I doubt that that card is supplying that if it has multiple 12v rails.
     
  8. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    So your temps are fine.. Even great.

    HWMonitor doesn't appear to be coming up with any information on a 12+ rail though and if there is one, I'm going to say it isn't producing the power you need. Unfortunately, you'll have to stick to the less demanding games that aren't resulting in the crash until you are able to replace your PSU. Continuing games that are causing your system to crash may eventually damage your rig so I'd steer clear.

    I hope a new PSU will resolve the issue. If you have any other questions, feel free to ask. :)

    Regards,
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. GLOOPS
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    665
  2. Vermilion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,297
  3. Abekhl
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    685
  4. sean365
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    606
  5. genxtremist
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    652
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1062117